LibGuides: Theological Research: WorldCat and Other Databases

Show Me! WorldCat

Searching Beyond the Collection: WorldCat Tutorial

Links to Databases Mentioned in Class

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database. It lacks a scripture index or scripture citation index. It is a good choice for ethics class.
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials Plus This link opens in a new window
ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. The database includes a scripture index and a scripture citation index
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ researcher, a reference database, includes comprehensive, non-biased reporting and analysis on issues shaping our world. Topics such as ethics and abortion are found within. A sampling of media and public conversation is included.
Digital Karl Barth Library This link opens in a new window
The Digital Karl Barth Library was purchased for a specific class-- Church Dogmatics.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a collection of full text scholarly journals in a wide variety of subject areas, providing entire backfiles of key journals. Campbell has access to JSTOR Arts and Sciences I through VIII and XI, as well as specific collections for Life Sciences, Religion and Theology.
New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
New Testament Abstracts Online is a product of a partnership between ATLA and Boston College. The database is an indispensable research and bibliographic aid for scholars, librarians, clergy and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu. The database contains more than 44,000 article abstracts, 1,200 review abstracts, 16,500 book abstracts, and 50 software abstracts.
Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Old Testament Abstracts Online is a product of a partnership between ATLA and the Catholic Biblical Association. The database features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE provides online, worldwide, institutional subscription access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
Online Tutorial
ProQuest Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Religious news and information, informative details on doctrines and philosophies, and scholarly reports on religious history and related archaeology.
RIM Online: Research In Ministry This link opens in a new window
RIM Online is a freely available database that indexes Doctor of Ministry (D. Min.) projects from schools of theology accredited by the Association of Theological Schools in the United States and Canada. Indexing began in 1981. To order a copy of a D. Min. project that you see here, please contact Marie Berry in Interlibrary Loan (berrym@campbell.edu).
WorldCat (the OCLC Online Union Catalog) This link opens in a new window
OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide.

When we don't have it...

Resources not owned by the Campbell University Libraries can be borrowed from other libraries through ILLiad, an interlibrary loan (ILL) system available to Campbell faculty, staff, and students as an aid to research and study. Request it through our Interlibrary Loan service and we will borrow it from another library. This service is free of cost. Please allow up to 4-5 days for book requests, and 2-3 days for articles.

Check out the online tutorial to learn more about ILLiad.