LibGuides: MGMT 450 LP Strategic Management: Sources by Category

Business Literature

Hoover's Company Records
Quick, snappy summary information of more than 40,000 public and non-public companies

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Formerly known as ABI/INFORM Complete, this database includes peer-reviewed journals, business cases and case studies, 52 million company records, working papers from analysis firms, and business news. This is a comprehensive starting point for business research.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses. Full text for more than 8,800 serials back to 1965 and searchable cited references back as far as 1998.

SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
SimplyAnalytics enables users to create thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. Nation-wide data includes: population; age; race; income; ancestry; marital status; housing; employment; transportation; families; census data (including 1980, 1990, 2000, plus current year estimates and 5 year projections); consumer expenditure; consumer price index; quality of life & consumer profiles; business & employee counts by industry; EASI Market Segments & Life Stages; Mediamark Research's (MRI) Survey of the American Consumer; EASI, using MRI survey data, produces local estimates of usage and consumption (propensity) for thousands of specific and detailed products and services.

Reference Solutions This link opens in a new window
Formerly known as ReferenceUSA, Reference Solutions is a searchable database with detailed information, including addresses and phone numbers, on more than 20 million businesses, 222 million consumers, U.S. new businesses, U.S. new homeowners and movers.

IBISWorld
IBISWorld publishes America's largest collection of Industry Market Research Reports. There are over 700 reports, written at the 5-digit level of NAICS: North American Industry Classification System. Each report, of 25-30 pages in length, is updated regularly, ensuring that they reflect the current state of an industry.
IBISWorld Glossary
NAICS Code Lookup
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), this tool will also provide Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) codes.
more...less...
Author: NAICS Association
North American Industry Classification System
This official U.S. Government Web site provides the latest information on plans for NAICS revisions, as well as access to various NAICS reference files and tools. Additional information on the background and development of NAICS is available in the History section of this Web site.
more...less...
Author: U.S. Department of Commerce, Census Bureau

Framework 6.f Understand how information systems are organized in order to access relevant information.

Mergent Market Atlas (Publicly Traded Companies)
Detailed company information reported by over 35,000 U.S. and International firms.
How to read a Form 10-K
Annual Report to the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).
SEC Forms
Filled with definitions that will help you understand the content of each Form! This page provides links to PDF versions of SEC public forms and many of the rules, regulations, and schedules associated with these forms.
more...less...
Author: Securities and Exchange Commission
BizMiner (Small Business)
Full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses. Full text for more than 8,800 serials back to 1965 and searchable cited references back as far as 1998.

Framework 6.f Understand how information systems are organized in order to access relevant information.

Mintel Reports
Mintel offers a series of research reports covering the US and European marketplace. Each market research report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape, market-share analysis and consumer profiles. Complex demographic issues are broken into easy-to-understand sections, explaining consumer behavior and demonstrating the structure of the market.
eMarkter Pro
Comprehensive source of information on how to do business in a digital world.

Morningstar Investing Center This link opens in a new window
Morningstar is a source for information on stocks, mutual funds, variable annuities, closed-end funds, exchange–traded funds, separate accounts, and 529 college savings plans. With operations in 16 countries, the company currently tracks more than 100,000 investment offerings worldwide.

RIA Checkpoint This link opens in a new window
Includes RIA Check Point Academic Advantage Library and RIA Estate Planning Complete. RIA Check Point Academic Advantage Library includes the U.S. Tax Reporter a comprehensive and up-to-date source of federal tax law, regulations, committee reports, cases, rulings, annotations, and explanations, and full coverage of federal income, estate & gift, excise and international taxes. RIA Estate Planning Complete is a professional estate tax service that consolidates all aspects of estate planning and administration, from development of the plan to administration and settlement of the final estate, with full text of supporting primary law documents.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Offers comprehensive access to a full-text Law Journal Library, beginning with volume 1 through the most current issue, the Federal Register Library, the U.S. Supreme Court Library, International Treaties and Agreements Library, and other legal resources.

Directory of Associations
Find over 35,000+ Local, Regional, National and International Associations