The University will respond to complaints or reports about prohibited conduct with measures designed to stop the behavior, eliminate any such discrimination, prevent the recurrence of the prohibited conduct, and remediate any adverse effects of such conduct on campus or in University-related programs or activities
Students are entitled to receive approved modifications, appropriate academic adjustments, or auxiliary aids that enable them to participate in and benefit from all educational programs and activities, including housing.
A bias incident is behavior that constitutes an expression of hostility against the person or property of another because of the targeted person’s race, religion, sexual orientation, ethnicity, national origin, gender, age, marital status, political affiliation, or disability. Examples of bias-related incidents include, but are not limited to: verbal or written use of degrading language or insults motivated from a belief or perception about a person’s race, religion, sexual orientation, ethnicity, national origin, gender, age, marital status, political affiliation, or disability regardless of whether the belief or perception is correct.
African American culture has a rich tradition of folktales. Written for students and general readers, this volume gathers a sampling of the most important African American folktales. Included are nearly 50 tales grouped in thematic chapters on origins; heroes, heroines, villains, and fools; society and conflict; and the supernatural. Each tale begins with an introductory headnote, and the book closes with a selected, general bibliography. Students learning about literature and language will gain a greater understanding of African American oral traditions, while social studies students will learn more about African American culture.
Here readers will find a vibrant, imaginative record of African culture transplanted to Cuba and transformed over time, a passionate and subversive alternative to the dominant Western culture of the Americas. In this charmed realm of myth and legend, imaginative flights, and hard realities, Cabrera shows us a world turned upside down. In this domain guinea hens can make dour Asturians and the king of Spain dance; little fat cooking pots might prepare their own meals; the pope can send encyclicals about pumpkins; and officials can be defeated by the shrewdness of turtles. The first English translation of one of the most important writers on African culture in the Americas, the collection provides a fascinating view of how African traditions, myths, stories, and religions traveled to the New World—of how, in their tales, Africans in the Americas created a New World all their own.
The Shelf2Life Native American Studies Collection is a unique set of pre-1923 materials that explore the characteristics and customs of North American Indians. From traditional songs and dance of the Apache and Navajo to the intricate patterns of Arapaho moccasins, these titles explore the symbolic meaning of Native American music and art. Complex relationships between tribal groups and government are also examined, highlighting the historic struggle for land rights, while the retelling of ancient myths and legends emphasize a belief in the interconnection of humans and nature and provide readers with significant insight into a culture deeply rooted in spirituality.
Drawing upon the traditions of their native lands, Asian Americans have developed an extensive cultural tradition. At the heart of that tradition are some of the world's most colorful folktales. These reflect the traditional beliefs of the East, as they have been passed down among generations of Asian Americans. But they also reflect the struggles, successes, and experiences of Asian immigrants in the New World. Written expressly for students and general readers, this book is a fascinating introduction to Asian American folktales. This book gathers together a selection of more than 30 Asian American folktales and groups them in thematic sections on origins; heroes, heroines, villains, and fools; society and conflict; and the supernatural. These tales reflect the traditional beliefs of the East as well as the new experiences of Asians in America. Each tale is accompanied by a headnote, and the book closes with a selected, general bibliography.
The figure of the violent man in the African American imagination has a long history. He can be found in 19th-century bad man ballads like Stagolee and John Hardy, as well as in the black convict recitations that influenced gangsta rap. Born in a Mighty Bad Land connects this figure with similar characters in African American fiction. Behind the folklore and fiction, many theories have been proposed to explain the source of the bad man's intra-racial violence. Jerry H. Bryant explores all of these elements in a wide-ranging and illuminating look at one of the most misunderstood figures in African American culture.
A reference guide to 468 stories and folktales from China, Japan, and Korea, this book aims to lead storytellers, folklorists, teachers, and librarians to both popular and lesser-known East Asian stories. The book includes a comprehensive title index along with a subject index. Two appendices provide a list of stories organized by country and a glossary.
From East L.A. to the barrios of New York City and the Cuban neighborhoods of Miami, Latino literature, or literature written by Hispanic peoples of the United States, is the written word of North America's vibrant Latino communities. Emerging from the fusion of Spanish, North American, and African cultures, it has always been part of the American mosaic. Written for students and general readers, this encyclopedia surveys the vast landscape of Latino literature from the colonial era to the present. Aiming to be as broad and inclusive as possible, the encyclopedia covers all of native North American Latino literature as well as that created by authors originating in virtually every country of Spanish America and Spain.
Within the pages of this introduction to American Indian history, culture, and values, readers will gain insight into the totality of Native American experience and culture. Each chapter in the book explores a particular shared cultural value or world view through both traditional stories and Bruchac's commentary. A diverse range of Native groups is included-Tlingit, Navajo, Cree, Abenaki, Yupik, Seminole, Sioux, Cherokee, and many more.
The fugitive slave known as "Three-Fingered Jack" terrorized colonial Jamaica from 1780 until vanquished by Maroons, self-emancipated Afro-Jamaicans bound by treaty to police the island for runaways and rebels. A thief and a killer, Jack was also a freedom fighter who sabotaged the colonial machine until his grisly death at its behest. Narratives about his exploits shed light on the problems of black rebellion and solutions administered by the colonial state, creating an occasion to consider counter-narratives about its methods of divide and conquer. For more than two centuries, writers, performers, and storytellers in England, Jamaica, and the United States have "thieved" Three Fingered Jack's riveting tale, defining black agency through and against representations of his resistance.
Academic Search Complete is EBSCO's comprehensive scholarly database, covering most subjects. It contains more than 10,000 full text peer reviewed journals and magazines. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 15,000 journals. Online Tutorial
JSTOR is a collection of full text scholarly journals in a wide variety of subject areas, providing entire backfiles of key journals. Campbell has access to JSTOR Arts and Sciences I through VIII and XI, as well as specific collections for Life Sciences, Religion and Theology.
General reference magazines and publications covering a wide-range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science and multicultural issues. Includes peer reviewed publications.
This resource provides access to 27 of ProQuest's most highly used databases, with a variety of content types across over 160 subjects, making this the broadest single research resource in the world. These 27 databases cover the full range of academic disciplines.