The University will respond to complaints or reports about prohibited conduct with measures designed to stop the behavior, eliminate any such discrimination, prevent the recurrence of the prohibited conduct, and remediate any adverse effects of such conduct on campus or in University-related programs or activities
Students are entitled to receive approved modifications, appropriate academic adjustments, or auxiliary aids that enable them to participate in and benefit from all educational programs and activities, including housing.
A bias incident is behavior that constitutes an expression of hostility against the person or property of another because of the targeted person’s race, religion, sexual orientation, ethnicity, national origin, gender, age, marital status, political affiliation, or disability. Examples of bias-related incidents include, but are not limited to: verbal or written use of degrading language or insults motivated from a belief or perception about a person’s race, religion, sexual orientation, ethnicity, national origin, gender, age, marital status, political affiliation, or disability regardless of whether the belief or perception is correct.
This volume provides a critical examination of the status of women and gender in higher education today. Despite the increasing numbers of women in higher education, gendered structures continue to hinder women's advancement in academia. This book goes beyond the numbers to examine the issues facing those members of academia with non-dominant gender identities. The authors analyse higher education structures from a range of perspectives and offer recommendations at individual and institutional levels to encourage activism and advance equality in academia.
This edited collection examines the significance of Sandra L. Bem's research for current debates on gender and gender roles in the social sciences, with contributions that question how the institution of gender has been, and remains, deeply contested.
A variety of print, audio and visual media, including comics, trade publications, music and newspapers, are considered to explore the portrayal of gender and gender-related issues. With a focus on girls and women, the chapters ponder how media formats both shape, and are shaped by, the social order.
Examining the ways in which feminist and queer activists confront privilege through the use of intersectionality, this edited collection presents empirical case studies from around the world to consider how intersectionality has been taken up (or indeed contested) by activists in order to expose and resist privilege. The volume sets out three key ways in which intersectionality operates within feminist and queer movements: it is used as a collective identity, as a strategy for forming coalitions, and as a repertoire for inclusivity. The case studies presented in this book then evaluate the extent to which some, or all, of these types of intersectional activism are used to confront manifestations of privilege.
What happens when your gender doesn't fit neatly into the categories of male or female? Even mundane interactions like filling out a form or using a public bathroom can be a struggle when these designations prove inadequate. In this groundbreaking book, thirty authors highlight how our experiences are shaped by a deeply entrenched gender binary.The powerful first-person narratives of this collection show us a world where gender exists along a spectrum, a web, a multidimensional space. Nuanced storytellers break away from mainstream portrayals of gender diversity, cutting across lines of age, race, ethnicity, ability, class, religion, family, and relationships.
This book provides a comprehensive account of the educational experiences of students, parents, and educators—both transgender and cisgender—in the context of current debates about the inclusion of transgender people in schools. Drawing on critiques of cisgenderism and emphasizing the importance of a "whole of school" approach, Transgender People and Education explores complex topics including sexuality education for transgender young people, teaching gender diversity, the journeys of cisgender parents of transgender children, the experiences of transgender parents and educators in schools, and the role of cisgender administrators, educators, and school counselors and psychologists in creating inclusive school cultures.
Comparing the professional and personal experiences of women of color professors with white women, white men, and men of color faculty from assistant professor through dean emeritus, Unequal Profession explores how the race and gender of individual legal academics affects not only their individual and collective experience, but also legal education as a whole. Drawing on quantitative and qualitative empirical data, Meera E. Deo reveals how race and gender intersect to create profound implications for women of color law faculty members, presenting unique challenges as well as opportunities to improve educational and professional outcomes in legal education.
Academic Search Complete is EBSCO's comprehensive scholarly database, covering most subjects. It contains more than 10,000 full text peer reviewed journals and magazines. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 15,000 journals. Online Tutorial
This database provides primary source materials from ProQuest's University Publications of America (UPA) Collection in a digital format. Researchers can access letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and much more from a single interface.
JSTOR is a collection of full text scholarly journals in a wide variety of subject areas, providing entire backfiles of key journals. Campbell has access to JSTOR Arts and Sciences I through VIII and XI, as well as specific collections for Life Sciences, Religion and Theology.
General reference magazines and publications covering a wide-range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science and multicultural issues. Includes peer reviewed publications.
This resource provides access to 27 of ProQuest's most highly used databases, with a variety of content types across over 160 subjects, making this the broadest single research resource in the world. These 27 databases cover the full range of academic disciplines.
ProQuest Congressional is a major source of information about the members of Congress and their legislative activities and a primary resource for assessing the many publications of the U.S. Congress from 1969 to present. ProQuest Congressional provides coverage of Congressional publications including House and Senate Committee Reports, Committee Hearings, Committee Prints and Documents. ProQuest Congressional provides extensive legislative histories for acts passed from 1969 to present.
Despite the many advancements made by progressive colleges and universities in the last decade, trans students continue to experience higher-than-usual rates of discrimination and inequitable experiences. In fact, more than 40 percent of trans students reported feeling isolated from campus life during the previous academic year. This guide will help students find answers and resources for common issues experienced on campus while also empowering them to stand up for themselves and know their rights.