The University will respond to complaints or reports about prohibited conduct with measures designed to stop the behavior, eliminate any such discrimination, prevent the recurrence of the prohibited conduct, and remediate any adverse effects of such conduct on campus or in University-related programs or activities
Students are entitled to receive approved modifications, appropriate academic adjustments, or auxiliary aids that enable them to participate in and benefit from all educational programs and activities, including housing.
A bias incident is behavior that constitutes an expression of hostility against the person or property of another because of the targeted person’s race, religion, sexual orientation, ethnicity, national origin, gender, age, marital status, political affiliation, or disability. Examples of bias-related incidents include, but are not limited to: verbal or written use of degrading language or insults motivated from a belief or perception about a person’s race, religion, sexual orientation, ethnicity, national origin, gender, age, marital status, political affiliation, or disability regardless of whether the belief or perception is correct.
Stringer explores the series of discourses around religion and religious diversity that are held by ordinary members of the city. Drawing on examples from UK, Europe and the US, Stringer offers some practical suggestions for ways in which discourses of religious diversity can be managed in the future. Students in the fields of religious studies, sociology, anthropology and urban studies; practitioners involved in inter-religious discussions; church and faith leaders; and politicians should all find this book an invaluable addition to on-going debates.
Diversity and the Common Good: Civil Society, Religion, and Catholic Sisters in a Small City examines the place of Catholic Sisters in shaping civil society in a small Midwestern city that has successfully confronted diversity. Pertinent in light of Sisters' historical work in creating a 'good society' (as well as recent criticisms and potential sanctions from the Vatican), this book appeals to scholars, students, and others seeking to learn about a city that "works" in the twenty-first century.
Issues in religion and education, Whose religion?' is a contribution to the dynamic and evolving global debates about the role of religion in public education. This volume provides a cross-section of the debates over religion, its role in public education and the theoretical and political conundrums associated with resolutions. The chapters reflect the contested nature of the role of religion in public education around the world and explore some of the issues mentioned from perspectives reflecting the diverse contexts in which the authors are situated. The differences among the chapters reflect some of the particular ways in which various jurisdictions have come to see the problem and how they have addressed religious diversity in public education in the context of their own histories and politics.
ulie J. Park examines how losing racial diversity in a university affects the everyday lives of its students. She uses a student organization, the InterVarsity Christian Fellowship (IVCF) at "California University," as a case study to show how reductions in racial diversity impact the ability of students to sustain multiethnic communities.
"Attitudes Aren't Free offers a framework for improving policy in the areas of religious expression, open homosexuality, race, gender, ethics, and other current issues affecting military members. Parco and Levy provide us with a unique and robust discussion of divisive topics that everyone thinks about serving our nation - in and out of uniform - become intimately familiar with this book."
Academic Search Complete is EBSCO's comprehensive scholarly database, covering most subjects. It contains more than 10,000 full text peer reviewed journals and magazines. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 15,000 journals. Online Tutorial
Atla Religion Database Plus with AtlaSerials combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with Atla's online collection of major religion and theology journals. The Atla Religion Database includes more than 575,000 article citations from more than 1,679 journals (506 currently indexed), more than 239,000 essay citations from over 16,800 multi-author works, and more than 530,000 book review citations. Full text is provided for more than 294,000 electronic articles and book reviews.
This database provides primary source materials from ProQuest's University Publications of America (UPA) Collection in a digital format. Researchers can access letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and much more from a single interface.
JSTOR is a collection of full text scholarly journals in a wide variety of subject areas, providing entire backfiles of key journals. Campbell has access to JSTOR Arts and Sciences I through VIII and XI, as well as specific collections for Life Sciences, Religion and Theology.
General reference magazines and publications covering a wide-range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science and multicultural issues. Includes peer reviewed publications.
This resource provides access to 27 of ProQuest's most highly used databases, with a variety of content types across over 160 subjects, making this the broadest single research resource in the world. These 27 databases cover the full range of academic disciplines.