LibGuides: COSU 100 Library Assignment: Part 1: Selecting a Topic & Forming a Research Question

Library Pre-Test

Please take the Library Pre-Test.
It's located in your COSU 100 Blackboard course.

Background Sources: Online Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

The library can help you find the right kinds of discussion partners. One logical place to start is with a good background source such as an encyclopedia or dictionary, especially if the topic is new to you.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An online reference library pulling information from over 350 titles.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, non-biased reporting and analysis on issues shaping our world.
Encyclopedia Britannica Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia Britannica full text. Includes Merriam-Webster Collegiate Dictionary and Collegiate Thesaurus.
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
A database of articles and commentary related to major topics.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Online This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.

Assignment Part 1: Selecting a Research Topic & Forming a Research Question

The information given in this section will help you to complete the first part of your library assignment.

Selecting a research topic; refining your topic; and forming a research question related to your topic.

Library Assignment: Parts 1, 2, & 3

Selecting & Refining a Research Topic; and Forming a Research Question

This video tutorial, from the library at Wilfrid Laurier University, walks you through how to develop and narrow a topic by creating a research question.

After viewing this tutorial, you should be able to complete the Topic Chart in the "Selecting a Research Topic" section, and write your complete Research Question under "Forming a Research Question." If you need more help, check out the resources listed in the right sidebar.

More Help: Selecting a Research Topic

A great way to come up with a research topic is simply to keep current on what's happening in your field of interest. Try browsing news articles online to find a topic of interest.

Research Topic Examples
This link provides examples to help fill out the Topic Chart from Step 2 of your assignment.

*These examples are from Blinn College Library - after clicking this link, be sure to return to our research guide! You will not be able to access any of Blinn College Library's resources linked on this page.*
Idea Generator
Need help thinking of a topic within a certain discipline? This idea generator from Old Dominion University may help.

*After clicking this link, be sure to return to our research guide! You will not be able to access any of Old Dominion University's resources linked on this page.*

More Help: Refining a Research Topic

VIDEO - Developing a Research Topic
This short video by MATC Libraries describes the process of focusing a research topic, using the Topic Chart.

Podcast- The Research Process: An Interview with Dr. Jaclyn Stanke

Interview with Dr. Stanke
Dr. Jaclyn Stanke sat down with our librarians to discuss her research interests and the research process. She shared a lot of insights that students and faculty alike may appreciate!