Skip to Main Content

Children's Literature Guide

Guide for children's literature awards winners

About the Award

The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children. Several honor books are awarded to those that did not qualify as medal winners, yet were still of notable quality. To learn more about the Newbery Medal, visit:

A listing of Newbery Medal Winners honor books housed in the Curriculum Materials/Media Center is below. These are organized according to the Library of Congress system of classification.

Award Honor Books