Biblical Studies Resources: Scholarly, historical-critical focus

Location:
* Theological Reference Collection (Kivett 3rd Floor)
* This commentary series is also shelved as a set on the 2nd floor of Kivett and can be checked out.

**Recommended for Formal & Detailed Analysis, Ch. 5 & 6, Gorman, Elements of Biblical Exegesis.**

The Anchor Yale Bible is a fresh approach to the world's greatest classic. Its object is to make the Bible accessible to the modern reader; its method is to arrive at the meaning of biblical literature through exact translation and extended exposition, and to reconstruct the ancient setting of the biblical story, as well as the circumstances of its transcription and the characteristics of its transcribers.

The Anchor Yale Bible is a project of international and interfaith scope: Protestant, Catholic, and Jewish scholars from many countries contribute individual volumes. the project is not sponsored by any ecclesiastical organization and is not intended to reflect any particular theological doctrine... The Anchor Yale Bible is an effort to make available all the significant historical and linguistic knowledge which bears on the interpretation of the biblical record.

The Anchor Yale Bible is aimed at the general reader with no special formal training in biblical studies; yet it is written with the most exacting standards of scholarship, reflecting the highest technical accomplishment.

Location:
* Theological Reference Collection (Kivett 3rd Floor)
* Individual commentaries for checkout are shelved canonically on the 2nd floor of Kivett.
Note: This commentary series is not shelved as a set in the stacks.

**Recommended for Detailed Analysis, Ch. 6, Gorman, Elements of Biblical Exegesis.**

This series is designed to be a critical and historical commentary to the Bible without arbitrary limits in size or scope. It will utilize the full range of philological and historical tools, including textual criticism (often slighted in modern commentaries), the methods of the history of tradition (including genre and prosodic analysis),and the history of religion.

Hermeneia is designed for the serious student of the Bible. It will make full use of the ancient Semitic and classical languages; at the same time, English translations of all comparative materials -- Greek, Latin, Canaanite, or Akkadian-- will be supplied alongside the citation of the source in its original language. Insofar as possible, the aim is to provide the student or scholar with full critical discussion of each problem of interpretation and with the primary data upon which the discussion is based.

Hermeneia is designed to be international and interconfessional in the selection of authors; its editorial boards were formed with this end in view. Occasionally the series will offer translations of distinguished commentaries which originally appeared in languages other than English. Published volumes of the series will be revised continually, and eventually, new commentaries will replace older works in order to preserve the currency of the series. Commentaries are also being assigned for important literary works in the categories of apocryphal and pseudopigraphical works relating to the Old and New Testaments, including some of Essene or Gnostic authorship.

The editors of Hermeneia impose no systematic-theological perspective upon the series (directly, or indirectly by selection of authors). It is expected that authors will struggle to lay bare the ancient meaning of a biblical work or pericope. In this way the text's human relevance should become transparent, as is always the case in competent historical discourse. However, the series eschews for itself homiletical translation of the Bible.

Location:
* Individual commentaries for checkout are shelved canonically on the 2nd floor of Kivett.
* Some eBooks
Note: This commentary series is not shelved as a set in the stacks.

**Recommended for Detailed Analysis, Ch. 6, Gorman, Elements of Biblical Exegesis.**

The older commentaries in this set may still be useful for linguistic studies in Hebrew and Greek.

The International Critical Commentary has long had a special place among works on the Bible. It has sought to bring together all the relevant aids to exegesis: linguistic and textual, archaeological, historical, literary, and theological,with a comprehensiveness and quality of scholarship unmatched by any other series. This series is being extended and renewed. ... Commentaries on books of the Bible which have not appeared in the ICC before and new editions of many existing volumes are in preparation.

Location:
* Theological Reference Collection (Kivett 3rd Floor)
* Individual commentaries for checkout are shelved canonically on the 2nd floor of Kivett.
Note: This commentary series is not shelved as a set in the stacks.

**Recommended for Detailed Analysis, Ch. 6, Gorman, Elements of Biblical Exegesis.**

Like its companion series on the New Testament, this commentary devotes considerable care to achieving a balance between technical information and homiletic-devotional interpretation. Each volume in the NICOT series contains an introduction that discusses various facets - the authorship, date, historical setting, original text, structure, theology, etc.- of the biblical book; a select bibliography concludes the introduction. The commentary proper, based on the author's own translation of the Hebrew text, discusses the book section by section. Expository matters are the primary concern in these comments; details of textual criticism and translation usually appear only in the footnotes.

Location:
* Theological Reference Collection (Kivett 3rd Floor)
* Individual commentaries for checkout are shelved canonically on the 2nd floor of Kivett.
Note: This commentary series is not shelved as a set in the stacks.

**Recommended for Detailed Analysis, Ch. 6, Gorman, Elements of Biblical Exegesis.**

Prepared by some of the world's leading New Testament scholars the NICNT series provides an exposition of the New Testament books that is thorough and fully abreast of modern scholarship yet faithful to the Scriptures as the infallible Word of God. While based on a careful study of the Greek text, the commentary introductions and expositions contain a minimum of Greek references. The NICNT authors evaluate significant textual problems and take into account the most important exegetical literature. More technical aspects - such as grammatical, textual, and historical problems- are dealt with in footnotes, special notes, and appendixes.

Location:
* Theological Reference Collection (Kivett 3rd Floor)
* This commentary series is also shelved as a set on the 2nd floor of Kivett and can be checked out.

**Recommended for Formal & Detailed Analysis, Ch. 5 & 6, Gorman, Elements of Biblical Exegesis.**

We [the editors of the Word Biblical Commentary series] have tried to cast a wide net to include a number of scholars from around the world who not only share our aims, but are in the main engaged in the ministry of teaching in university, college and seminary. They represent a rich diversity of denominational allegiance. The broad stance of our contributors can rightly be called evangelical, and this term is to be understood in its positive, historic sense of a commitment to scripture as divine revelation, and to the truth and power of the Christian gospel...What may be claimed as distinctive with this series is that it is based on biblical languages, yet it seeks to make the technical and scholarly approach to a theological understanding of scripture understandable by - and useful to- the fledgling student, the working minister as well as to colleagues in the guild of professional scholars and teachers.