Biblical Studies Resources: Commentaries

Location:
* Theological Reference Collection (Kivett 3rd Floor)
* This commentary series is also shelved as a set on the 2nd floor of Kivett and can be checked out.

**Recommended for Formal & Detailed Analysis, Ch. 5 & 6, Gorman, Elements of Biblical Exegesis.**

The Anchor Yale Bible is a fresh approach to the world's greatest classic. Its object is to make the Bible accessible to the modern reader; its method is to arrive at the meaning of biblical literature through exact translation and extended exposition, and to reconstruct the ancient setting of the biblical story, as well as the circumstances of its transcription and the characteristics of its transcribers.

The Anchor Yale Bible is a project of international and interfaith scope: Protestant, Catholic, and Jewish scholars from many countries contribute individual volumes. the project is not sponsored by any ecclesiastical organization and is not intended to reflect any particular theological doctrine... The Anchor Yale Bible is an effort to make available all the significant historical and linguistic knowledge which bears on the interpretation of the biblical record.

The Anchor Yale Bible is aimed at the general reader with no special formal training in biblical studies; yet it is written with the most exacting standards of scholarship, reflecting the highest technical accomplishment.

Location:
* Theological Reference Collection (Kivett 3rd Floor)
* Individual commentaries for checkout are shelved canonically on the 2nd floor of Kivett.
Note: This commentary series is not shelved as a set in the stacks.

**Recommended for Detailed Analysis, Ch. 6, Gorman, Elements of Biblical Exegesis.**

This series is designed to be a critical and historical commentary to the Bible without arbitrary limits in size or scope. It will utilize the full range of philological and historical tools, including textual criticism (often slighted in modern commentaries), the methods of the history of tradition (including genre and prosodic analysis),and the history of religion.

Hermeneia is designed for the serious student of the Bible. It will make full use of the ancient Semitic and classical languages; at the same time, English translations of all comparative materials -- Greek, Latin, Canaanite, or Akkadian-- will be supplied alongside the citation of the source in its original language. Insofar as possible, the aim is to provide the student or scholar with full critical discussion of each problem of interpretation and with the primary data upon which the discussion is based.

Hermeneia is designed to be international and interconfessional in the selection of authors; its editorial boards were formed with this end in view. Occasionally the series will offer translations of distinguished commentaries which originally appeared in languages other than English. Published volumes of the series will be revised continually, and eventually, new commentaries will replace older works in order to preserve the currency of the series. Commentaries are also being assigned for important literary works in the categories of apocryphal and pseudopigraphical works relating to the Old and New Testaments, including some of Essene or Gnostic authorship.

The editors of Hermeneia impose no systematic-theological perspective upon the series (directly, or indirectly by selection of authors). It is expected that authors will struggle to lay bare the ancient meaning of a biblical work or pericope. In this way the text's human relevance should become transparent, as is always the case in competent historical discourse. However, the series eschews for itself homiletical translation of the Bible.

Location:
* Individual commentaries for checkout are shelved canonically on the 2nd floor of Kivett.
* Some eBooks
Note: This commentary series is not shelved as a set in the stacks.

**Recommended for Detailed Analysis, Ch. 6, Gorman, Elements of Biblical Exegesis.**

The older commentaries in this set may still be useful for linguistic studies in Hebrew and Greek.

The International Critical Commentary has long had a special place among works on the Bible. It has sought to bring together all the relevant aids to exegesis: linguistic and textual, archaeological, historical, literary, and theological,with a comprehensiveness and quality of scholarship unmatched by any other series. This series is being extended and renewed. ... Commentaries on books of the Bible which have not appeared in the ICC before and new editions of many existing volumes are in preparation.

Location:
* Theological Reference Collection (Kivett 3rd Floor)
* Individual commentaries for checkout are shelved canonically on the 2nd floor of Kivett.
Note: This commentary series is not shelved as a set in the stacks.

**Recommended for Detailed Analysis, Ch. 6, Gorman, Elements of Biblical Exegesis.**

Like its companion series on the New Testament, this commentary devotes considerable care to achieving a balance between technical information and homiletic-devotional interpretation. Each volume in the NICOT series contains an introduction that discusses various facets - the authorship, date, historical setting, original text, structure, theology, etc.- of the biblical book; a select bibliography concludes the introduction. The commentary proper, based on the author's own translation of the Hebrew text, discusses the book section by section. Expository matters are the primary concern in these comments; details of textual criticism and translation usually appear only in the footnotes.

Location:
* Theological Reference Collection (Kivett 3rd Floor)
* Individual commentaries for checkout are shelved canonically on the 2nd floor of Kivett.
Note: This commentary series is not shelved as a set in the stacks.

**Recommended for Detailed Analysis, Ch. 6, Gorman, Elements of Biblical Exegesis.**

Prepared by some of the world's leading New Testament scholars the NICNT series provides an exposition of the New Testament books that is thorough and fully abreast of modern scholarship yet faithful to the Scriptures as the infallible Word of God. While based on a careful study of the Greek text, the commentary introductions and expositions contain a minimum of Greek references. The NICNT authors evaluate significant textual problems and take into account the most important exegetical literature. More technical aspects - such as grammatical, textual, and historical problems- are dealt with in footnotes, special notes, and appendixes.

Location:
* Theological Reference Collection (Kivett 3rd Floor)
* This commentary series is also shelved as a set on the 2nd floor of Kivett and can be checked out.

**Recommended for Formal & Detailed Analysis, Ch. 5 & 6, Gorman, Elements of Biblical Exegesis.**

We [the editors of the Word Biblical Commentary series] have tried to cast a wide net to include a number of scholars from around the world who not only share our aims, but are in the main engaged in the ministry of teaching in university, college and seminary. They represent a rich diversity of denominational allegiance. The broad stance of our contributors can rightly be called evangelical, and this term is to be understood in its positive, historic sense of a commitment to scripture as divine revelation, and to the truth and power of the Christian gospel...What may be claimed as distinctive with this series is that it is based on biblical languages, yet it seeks to make the technical and scholarly approach to a theological understanding of scripture understandable by - and useful to- the fledgling student, the working minister as well as to colleagues in the guild of professional scholars and teachers.

Location:
* Kivett (2nd Floor)
* Some eBooks
* Individual commentaries for checkout are shelved canonically on the 2nd floor of Kivett.
Note: This commentary series is not shelved as a set in the stacks.

**Recommended for Synthesis, Ch. 7, Gorman, Elements of Biblical Exegesis.**

These commentaries are written with special attention to the needs and interests of theology students, but they will also be useful for students in upper-level college or university settings, as well as for pastors and other church leaders.

Location:
* Individual commentaries for checkout are shelved canonically on the 2nd floor of Kivett.
Note: This commentary series is not shelved as a set in the stacks.

**Recommended for Synthesis, Ch. 7, Gorman, Elements of Biblical Exegesis.**

The Chalice Commentaries for Today are designed to help pastors, seminary students, and educated laity who are open to contemporary scholarship claim the Bible intheir personal lives and in their engagement with the crucial issues of our time. The aim of the series is to offer a better understanding of the biblical challenges to the values, beliefs, and behavior in today's world as well as our own world's challenges to the values, beliefs, and behavior in the biblical world. the authors contributing to this series, though theologically diverse, share a vision of God as a relational being who is passionately involved in the life of the world, whose primary feature is love, and who both affects and is affected by the world.

Location:
* Individual commentaries for checkout are shelved canonically on the 2nd floor of Kivett.
Note: This commentary series is not shelved as a set in the stacks.

**Recommended for Synthesis, Ch. 7, Gorman, Elements of Biblical Exegesis.**

Books in the Westminster Bible Companion series assist pastors and students in their study of the Bible as a guide to Christian faith and practice. Each volume presents the text under discussion, explains the biblical book in its original historical context, and explores the text's significance for faithful living today. These books are an ideal resource for preparing a text-based sermon and a worthy addition to seminary courses and advanced Bible study groups.

Location:
* Individual commentaries for checkout are shelved canonically on the 2nd floor of Kivett.
Note: This commentary series is not shelved as a set in the stacks.

**Recommended for Synthesis, Ch. 7, Gorman, Elements of Biblical Exegesis.**

Most Bible commentaries take us on a one-way trip from the twentieth century to the first century. But they leave us there, assuming that we can somehow make the return journey on our own. In other words, they focus on the original meaning of the passage but don't discuss its contemporary application. The information they offer is valuable -- but the job is only half done! The NIV Application Commentary Series helps us with both halves of the interpretive task. This new and unique series shows readers how to bring an ancient message into modern context. It explains not only what the Bible means but also how it can speak powerfully today.

Location:
* Theological Reference Collection (Kivett 3rd Floor)
* Individual commentaries for checkout are shelved canonically on the 2nd floor of Kivett.
Note: This commentary series is not shelved as a set in the stacks.

**Recommended for Contextual & Detailed Analysis, Ch. 4 & 6, Gorman, Elements of Biblical Exegesis.**

Sacra Pagina is a multi-volume commentary on the books of the New Testament, written by Roman Catholic scholars. It is scholarly in nature but attempts to maintain a Catholic perspective.

Location:
* Individual commentaries for checkout are shelved canonically on the 2nd floor of Kivett.
Note: This commentary series is not shelved as a set in the stacks.

This accessible series will focus on the final form of each New Testament book, attending to historical setting, canonical context, and contemporary hermeneutical concerns. Authored by a diverse team of illustrious scholars, Paideia commentaries will add fresh insight to consensus scholarship, focusing especially on how these theological texts use narrative and rhetorical strategies from the ancient educational world to form and shape the reader. Aimed squarely at university and seminary students, this series will be eminently useful for preachers and professors. Each Paideia commentary divides its biblical text into sense units. For each unit, the author discusses introductory issues, explicates the train of argument or narrative, and pulls out major hermeneutical and theological questions for additional attention. The main text is judiciously supplemented with maps, sidebars, and photographs. Reference lists and indexes help the reader locate discussions in the commentary and in other available scholarly literature.

Location:
* Some eBooks
* Individual commentaries for checkout are shelved canonically on the 2nd floor of Kivett.
Note: This commentary series is not shelved as a set in the stacks.

The Blackwell Bible Commentaries series, the first to be devoted primarily to the reception history of the Bible, is based on the premise that how people have interpreted, and been influenced by, a sacred text like the Bible is often as interesting and historically important as what it originally meant. Until quite recently this whole dimension of biblical studies has been for the most part totally neglected by modern biblical scholars. The goal of the commentary writer has been to get behind the centuries of accumulated Christian and Jewish tradition to one single meaning, normally identified with the author's original intention. The most important and distinctive feature of this new type of commentary is that it will present readers with many different interpretations of each text, in such a way as to heighten their awareness of what a sacred text, can mean and what it can do, what it has meant and what it has done, in the many contexts in which it operates. The Blackwell Bible Commentaries will consider patristic, rabbinic (where relevant), and medieval exegesis, interpretation from the Reformation and early modern period, as well as insights from various types of modern criticism, acquainting readers with a wide variety of interpretative techniques. Where relevant, reference will be made to questions of source criticism, date, authorship, and other historical critical and archaeological issues, but since these are comprehensively covered in existing commentaries, such references will be considered briefly as part of the history of interpretation.

Location:
* Individual commentaries for checkout are shelved canonically on the 2nd floor of Kivett.
Note: This commentary series is not shelved as a set in the stacks.

The major intent of the series The Bible in Medieval Tradition is to reacquaint the Church with its rich history of biblical interpretation and with the contemporary applicability of this history, especially for academic study, spiritual formation, preaching, discussion groups, and individual reflection. Each volume focuses on a particular biblical book or set of books and provides documentary evidence of the most significant ways in which that work was treated in the course of medieval biblical exegesis and with the interests of contemporary readers. Each volume in the series comprises fresh translations of several commentaries. the selections are lengthy and, in most cases, have never been available in English before. Compared to patristic material, relatively little medieval exegesis has been translated. While medieval interpretations do resemble their patristic forebears, they do not simply replicate them. Indeed, they are produced at new times and in new situations. As a result, they lend insight into the changing culture and scholarship of the Middle Ages and comprise a storehouse of the era's theological and spiritual riches that can enhance contemporary reading of the Bible. They, therefore, merit their own consideration, to which this series is meant to contribute.

Location:
* Some eBooks
* Individual commentaries for checkout are shelved canonically on the 2nd floor of Kivett.
Note: This commentary series is not shelved as a set in the stacks.

The Reformation Commentary on Scripture (RCS) will be a multivolume work that presents comments by historic figures on the entirety of the Bible, chapter by chapter. The unique contribution of the RCS will be its presentation of Protestant Reformation reflections on Scripture, thereby introducing its readers to the depth and richness of exegetical ferment that defined the Reformation. The RCS will introduce a wealth of Reformation-era commentary on Scripture that is largely unknown and for the most part unavailable in English. While the giants of the era will be well represented, readers will also be introduced to a host of figures with whom they were previously unfamiliar, yet who contributed to the reformation in important ways. In doing so, the RCS will demonstrate both the unity and diversity of thought that characterized this vital period in the history of the church. The RCS will be printed in a large, attractive, hardback, double-columned format. Employing the highest level of scholarly research, it will present Reformation-era commentary on Scripture in a clear and straightforward manner, thereby making it accessible to a larger audience. Commentary excerpts will be selected for their succinctness of expression, clarity of thought, depth of scriptural insight, universal relevance, rhetorical power an theological consonance with the tradition of Christian orthodoxy, all the while highlighting the distinctive contributions of the Protestant Reformation.

Location:
* Theological Reference Collection (Kivett 3rd Floor)
* Some eBooks
* Individual commentaries for checkout are shelved canonically on the 2nd floor of Kivett.
Note: This commentary series is not shelved as a set in the stacks.

The Ancient Christian Commentary on Scripture does what very few of today's students of the Bible could do for themselves. With the aid of computer technology, the vast array of writings from church fathers -- including much that is available only in the ancient languages -- have been combed for their comment on Scripture. From these results, scholars with a deep knowledge of the fathers and a heart for the church have hand selected material for each volume, shaping, annotating and introducing it to today's readers. Each portion of commentary has been chosen for its salient insight, its rhetorical power and its faithful representation of the consensual exegesis of the early church. The Ancient Christian Commentary on Scripture is an ecumenical project, promoting a vital link of communication between the varied Christian traditions of today and their common ancient ancestors in the faith. On this shared ground we listen as leading pastoral theologians of six centuries gather around the text of Scripture and offer their best theological, spiritual and pastoral insights. Today the historical-critical method of interpretation has nearly exhausted its claim on the biblical text and on the church. In its wake there is a widespread yearning among christian individuals and communities for the wholesome, the deep and the enduring. The Ancient Christian Commentary on Scripture seeks not to replace those excellent commentaries that have been produced in the twentieth century. It supplements them, framing them with interpretive voices that have long sustained the church and only recently have fallen silent. It invites us to listen with appreciative ears and sympathetic minds as our ancient ancestors in the faith describe and interpret the scriptural vistas as they see them. The Ancient Christian Commentary on Scripture is a post critical revival of the early commentary tradition known as the glossa ordinaria, a text artfully elaborated with ancient and authoritative reflections and insights. An uncommon companion for theological interpretation, spiritual reading, and wholesome teaching and preaching.

Location:
* Individual commentaries for checkout are shelved canonically on the 2nd floor of Kivett.
Note: This commentary set is not complete and is not shelved as a set in the stacks.

**Recommended for Reflection- Theological Interpretation, Ch. 8, Gorman, Elements of Biblical Exegesis.**

Contributors to the ECC series are among the foremost authorities in biblical scholarship worldwide. Representing a broad range of confessional backgrounds, authors are charged to remain sensitive to the original meaning of the text and to bring alive its relevance for today.

Location:
* Theological Reference Collection (Kivett 3rd Floor)
* Some eBooks
* Individual commentaries for checkout are shelved canonically on the 2nd floor of Kivett.
Note: This commentary series is not shelved as a set in the stacks.

**Recommended for Reflection- Theological Interpretation, Ch. 8, Gorman, Elements of Biblical Exegesis.**

This series of commentaries offers an interpretation of the books of the Bible. It is designed to meet the needs of students, teachers, ministers, and priests for a contemporary expository commentary. These volumes will not replace the historical critical commentary or homiletical aids to preaching. The purpose of this series is rather to provide a third kind of resource, a commentary which presents the integrated result of historical and theological work with the biblical text... The interpreters are scholars who seek to create an interpretation which is both faithful to the text and useful to the church. The series is written for those who teach, preach, and study the Bible in the community of faith.

Location:
* Kivett (2nd Floor)
* Some eBooks
* Individual commentaries for checkout are shelved canonically on the 2nd floor of Kivett.
Note: This commentary set is not complete and is not shelved as a set in the stacks.

**Recommended for Reflection- Theological Interpretation, Ch. 8, Gorman, Elements of Biblical Exegesis.**

"The editors and writers hope that the New American Commentary will be helpful and instructive for pastors and teachers, scholars and students, for men and women in the churches who study and teach God's Word in various settings"

All NAC authors affirm the divine inspiration, inerrancy, complete truthfulness, and full authority of the Bible. The perspective of the NAC is unapologetically confessional and rooted in the evangelical tradition...While the commentary adopts an 'American' name, it should be noted some writers represent countries outside the United States, giving the commentary an international perspective. The diverse group of writers includes scholars, teachers, and administrators from almost twenty different colleges and seminaries, as well as pastors, missionaries, and a layperson.

Location:
* Theological Reference Collection (Kivett 3rd Floor)
* This commentary series is also shelved as a set on the 2nd floor of Kivett and can be checked out.

**Recommended for Reflection- Theological Interpretation, Ch. 8, Gorman, Elements of Biblical Exegesis.**

The general aim of The New Interpreter's Bible is to bring the best in contemporary biblical scholarship into the service of the church to enhance preaching, teaching, and the study of the Scriptures...The exegetical approach is "text-centered." That is, the commentators focus primarily on the text in its final form rather than on (a) a meticulous rehearsal of problems of scholarship associated with a text,(b) a thorough reconstruction of the pre-history of the text, or (c) an exhaustive rehearsal of the text's interpretive history.

Location:
* Theological Reference Collection (Kivett 3rd Floor)
* Individual commentaries for checkout are shelved canonically on the 2nd floor of Kivett.
Note: This commentary is not complete and is not shelved as a set in the stacks.

**Recommended for Reflection- Theological Interpretation, Ch. 8, Gorman, Elements of Biblical Exegesis.**

"A series of commentaries specifically designed for use by students, pastors, and teachers. Perhaps the most significant and enduring series in the field, the OTL presents a critically informed, theological reading of the Old Testament"

Location:
* Theological Reference Collection (Kivett 3rd Floor)
* Some eBooks
* Individual commentaries for checkout are shelved canonically on the 2nd floor of Kivett.
Note: This series is not complete, and is not shelved as a set in the stacks.

**Recommended for Contextual Analysis, Detailed Analysis, & Reflection- Theological Interpretation, Ch. 4, 6, & 8, Gorman, Elements of Biblical Exegesis.**

Written by accomplished scholars with all students of Scripture in mind, the primary goal of the Smyth & Helwys Bible Commentary is to make available serious, credible biblical scholarship in an accessible and less intimidating format...Our writers are reputable scholars who participate in the community of faith and sense a calling to communicate the results of their scholarship to their community...The Smyth & Helwys Bible Commentary addresses Christians and the larger church.

Location:
* Kivett (2nd Floor)
* Some ebooks
* Individual commentaries for checkout are shelved canonically on the 2nd floor of Kivett.
Note: This commentary set is not complete and is not shelved as a set in the stacks.

**Recommended for Reflection- Theological Interpretation, Ch. 8, Gorman, Elements of Biblical Exegesis.**

This new series will build on a wide range of sources in areas such as biblical studies, the Christian tradition, popular culture, and the language of Christian worship. Whereas most commentaries emphasize the Bible's ancient meaning, Belief concentrates on the living Word relative to the theological and ethical concerns of today. Noted scholars representing diverse backgrounds and perspectives will ensure a fresh and invigorating approach to the Bible. Nearly half of the volumes in the series will be written by women, and almost a third will be written by persons of color.

Location:
* Individual commentaries for checkout are shelved canonically on the 2nd floor of Kivett.
Note: This commentary set is not complete and is not shelved as a set in the stacks.

**Recommended for Reflection- Theological Interpretation, Ch. 8, Gorman, Elements of Biblical Exegesis.**

Commentators in this series have not been chosen because of their historical or philogical expertise. In the main, they are not biblical scholars in the conventional, modern sense of the term. Instead, the commentators were chosen because of their knowledge of and expertise in using the Christian doctrinal tradition.

Readers should expect this reconstructive - not reactionary- series to provide them with experiments in postcritical doctrinal interpretation, not commentaries written according to the settled principles of a well-functioning tradition...The central premise in this commentary series is that doctrine provides structure and cogency to scriptural interpretation.

Location:
* Individual commentaries for checkout are shelved canonically on the 2nd floor of Kivett.
Note: These commentary sets are not complete and are not shelved as a set in the stacks.

**Recommended for Reflection- Theological Interpretation, Ch. 8, Gorman, Elements of Biblical Exegesis.**

The Two Horizons Old Testament is written primarily for students, pastors, and other Christian leaders seeking to engage in theological interpretation of Scripture.

Scholars in The Two Horizons Old Testament Commentary locate their primary interests on theological readings of texts, past and present. The result is a paragraph-by-paragraph engagement with the text that is deliberately theological in focus.