LibGuides: SPAN 406- Special Topics: Consecutive Interpretation: Home

Recommended search strings

"medical interpretation"

hispanics AND "health disparities"

"cultural competency"

Note: Try using the thesaurus in your database.

Recommended Journals

When we don't have it...

Resources not owned by the Campbell University Libraries can be borrowed from other libraries through ILLiad, an interlibrary loan (ILL) system available to Campbell faculty, staff, and students as an aid to research and study. Request it through our Interlibrary Loan service and we will borrow it from another library. This service is free of cost. Please allow up to 4-5 days for book requests, and 2-3 days for articles.

Check out the online tutorial to learn more about ILLiad.

Databases of Interest

Subscription Databases Recommended for Research on Medical Interpretation

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is EBSCO's comprehensive scholarly database, covering most subjects. It contains more than 10,000 full text peer reviewed journals and magazines. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 15,000 journals.
Online Tutorial
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, consumer health, and 17 allied health disciplines, and contains indexing for 2,717 nursing journals and publications dating back to 1982,including indexing for journals, books and book chapters, dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, pamphlets, educational software packages and audiovisual material. Full text for over 300 journals is provided.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Upgraded and expanded from MD Consult, this point-of-care research and "clinical insight engine" contains hundreds of Elsevier's medical books, textbooks and very current journals, Procedures Consult's procedural videos, the First Consult POC interface, additional videos and images, practice guidelines, patient handouts, and drug information from Gold Standard.

Campbell Subscription Databases with Consumer Health Education

Lexidrug This link opens in a new window
Provides information on drug information, geriatric dosage, natural products, poisoning & toxicology, recently approved medications, laboratory tests, infectious diseases, pediatric dosage, oncology drug information, drug images, drug interactions, diagnostic procedures, anesthesiology and critical care drug information, and nutrient depletion drug information.
Merck Manual Professional Version This link opens in a new window
Explains disorders, their symptoms, how they're diagnosed, and how they can be prevented or treated. For doctors and medical students.

Freely Accessible Databases with Consumer Health Education

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention This link opens in a new window
Resources about diseases, conditions and other special topics, with health immunizations and recommendations for travelers worldwide.
MEDLINEplus This link opens in a new window
MEDLINEplus has extensive information for health professionals and consumers from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on hundreds of diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and dictionaries, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.

Reference and Instruction Librarian

Hannah Holmes

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Wiggins Memorial Library, 2nd Floor, Office 230

910-893-1449

Subjects: Arabic, Art, Clinical Research, Foreign Language, Music, Pharmaceutical Sciences, Pharmacy and Health Sciences, Pharmacy Practice, Spanish, Theatre Arts

SPAN 406- Special Topics: Consecutive Interpretation: Home

Searching as Strategic Exploration

Recommended search strings

Recommended Journals

When we don't have it...

Databases of Interest

Reference and Instruction Librarian

Helpful Library Links