LibGuides: *Music Research Guide: The New Grove

New Grove Description

The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians by Stanley Sadie (Editor); John Tyrrell (Editor)
Call Number: Ref ML100 .N48 2001 V.1- 29
ISBN: 9781561592395
Publication Date: 2003-02-11
Location: 1st floor Reference Collection

The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians(NGII) is the major English-language music encyclopedia. It was first published in 1879-89 in four volumes under the title Grove's Dictionary of Music and Musicians. The 29 volume set, found in the library's Reference Collection, is the 2nd edition with the title New Grove (but is the 7th edition of the encyclopedia overall) and was published in 2001.

More than half of the entries are on composers and usually give both biographical data, musical analysis, and extensive work lists. Other people given individual entries include performers, scholars, writers, librettists, dancers, patrons, printers, instrument makers and others significant in the history of music.

Numerous entries cover a variety of geographical areas--cities, countries, and regions of the world. The New Grove also includes hundreds of terminological and survey articles on music other than Western European art music including popular music and world music (ethnomusicology).

Grove Music Online

Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window
Grove Music Online is a comprehensive reference source for music, providing over 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works. It offers the full texts of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, as well as The Oxford Companion to Music and The Oxford Dictionary of Music.

MLA Citation Format, New Grove in print & online.

Please bear in mind that The New Grove is a special case: while “Dictionary” may be part of its title, it is NOT a generic dictionary. References to “dictionaries” in style manuals simply do not apply to the various incarnations of the Grove dictionaries. The articles are written by experts and signed; some articles have been extracted and published as individual books. Thus, the following citation format is to be followed:

Basic Citation Format:

Author's Last Name, First Name (if available). "Title of the Article or Entry." Title of the Reference Book, Version (edition if other than first), Number (vol. no.), Publisher, Publication date, Location (page range).

Print:

Piccarella, John. "Hendrix, Jimi." The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd ed., vol. 11, Oxford University Press, 2001, pp.371- 372.

Online:

Piccarella, John. "Hendrix, Jimi." Grove Music Online. Oxford University Press, 2001. https://doi-org.proxy.campbell.edu/10.1093/gmo/9781561592630.article.47127. Accessed 08 March 2020.

Using the New Grove Dictionary

Abbreviations in general use in the dictionary are listed on pp. vii-xi; bibliographical ones (periodicals, reference works, editions etc.) are listed on pp. xiii-xviii and discographical abbreviations on pp. xix-xx.
Alphebetization of headings is based on the principle that words are read continuously, ignoring spaces, hyphens, accents, bracketed matter etc., up to the first comma; the same principle applies thereafter. 'Mc' and 'M'' are listed as 'Mac', 'St' as 'Saint'.
Bibliographies are arranged chronologically (within section, where divided), in order of year of first publication, and alphabetically by author within years.
Cross-references are shown in small capitals, with a large capital at the beginning of the first word of the entry referred to. Thus 'The instrument is related to the BASS TUBA' would mean that the entry referred to is not "Bass tuba' but 'Tuba, bass'.
Signatures where the article was compiled by the editors or in the few cases where an author has wished to remain anonymous are indicated by a square box ().
Work-lists are normally arranged chronoogically (within section, where divided). Italic symbols used in them (like D-Dl or GB-Lbl) refer to the libraries holding sources, and are explained on pp. xxi-xxxvii; each national sigillum stands until contradicted.