It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ENGL 416: Modern/Contemporary Fiction: General Information
This research guide is designed to help students find research material that may assist them in their research for this class.
MLA International Bibliography is a bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.5 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers. Online Tutorial
Literature Criticism Online includes Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400-1800, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Drama Criticism, and Children's Literature Review. Online Tutorial
Academic Search Complete is EBSCO's comprehensive scholarly database, covering most subjects. It contains more than 10,000 full text peer reviewed journals and magazines. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 15,000 journals. Online Tutorial
JSTOR is a collection of full text scholarly journals in a wide variety of subject areas, providing entire backfiles of key journals. Campbell has access to JSTOR Arts and Sciences I through VIII and XI, as well as specific collections for Life Sciences, Religion and Theology.
This search displays, by title, the library's holdings for over 94,000 periodicals, including scholarly journals, popular magazines, and newspapers (such as Science, Time, and The Wall Street Journal).
Conduct a subject search on the author of the work in question. This will give you books about the author.
Don't forget to use Boolean Operators (AND, OR, NOT). These can help you focus your results.
If you are looking for literary criticism, try a subject search on the author's last name AND criticism.
If your author is associated with a literary movement (e.g. Harlem Renaissance) do a subject search on the movement.
How do you do a subject search?
Go to the OneSearch and type in the subject you are looking for (e.g. Harlem Renaissnance), then hit return.
On the results screen, go next to the search bar and click on the advanced search link
On the Advanced Search screen you want to go to the drop down menu next to where it says Any field and select subject.
Under Material Type (to the right of the top search bar) from the drop down menu select Books/eBooks.
When you've selected all of these, click on the Search link.
If you are having difficulty finding information, talk to your professor or one of the librarians at the Research Assistance desk.
Advanced Search Suggestions
Remember to use Boolean Operators(AND, OR, NOT) in your search to make it more efficient.
When looking for information on an author, check to see: if they have a pen name, if they wrote under an alias, or if their name translates multiple ways when converted into English. If any of these apply, OR together all the possible names in your search. Ex. Elliot, George OR Evans, Mary Ann
Take advantage of the Gale collections of criticism excerpts found in Literature Criticism Online. These excerpts can give you a good idea about the content of a particular article. If you decide that the article will be useful, the citation information is given so you can find the complete article in the library or request it through interlibrary loan. Show Me