Chaucer

Geoffrey Chaucer c. 1343 – 25 October 1400

Useful websites

Chaucer Metapage

These are useful sites for Chaucer research

New Chaucer Society Chaucer Bibliography Online

Time Period Resources

Encyclopedia Britannica Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
A great resource for looking up an event or literary period to get a sense of what was going on as background research. Test your topics by looking into them in a resource like this.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Online This link opens in a new window
Trace the use of a word across time periods and make sure that the definition you are using is the right one for your current time period.

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life by Andrew E. Kersten (Editor); Gregory S. Aldrete (Editor); Lawrence Morris (Editor); Joyce E. Salisbury (Editor); Peter Seelig (Editor)
Call Number: GT31 .G74 2004
ISBN: 0313325413
Publication Date: 2004-06-30
A 4 volume encyclopedia set in the Reference section that gives some insight into how people lived their lives and common assumptions of the time period chosen.

Search Library Resources: OneSearch

OneSearch is a great place to start your research, as it combines most of the library's books, journal articles, and digital resources into a single search. Search OneSearch from the library website.

Tutorial: One Search Basics OneSearch Basics
Tutorial: One Search Advanced OneSearch Advanced

Databases for Literary Criticism

Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Combines Literature Resource Center with Gale Virtual Reference Library in one interface. Articles, critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, and biographies covering authors, their works, and literary movements.
Literary Reference Plus This link opens in a new window
Articles and criticisms, including peer-reviewed, bios and interviews, novels, short stories, poems, and literary magazines.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Literature Criticism Online sorts criticism topically, by period, and even by author depending on prominence. Also includes Poetry and Short Story criticism.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
An EBSCO database that can be cross-referenced with other literary databases, the MLA International Bibliography is a great starting point for literary research.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
While an interdisciplinary resource, JSTOR is great specifically for short story research.

Useful References

A Chaucer dictionary
Call Number: PR 1903.D5
ISBN: 081611112X
The Oxford companion to Chaucer
Call Number: PR 1903.O94 2003
ISBN: 0198117655
All things Chaucer
Call Number: PR 1903.R55 2007
ISBN: 0313332525
This is a 2 volume set
Chaucer A to Z
Call Number: PR 1903.R67 1999
ISBN: 0816032963
Critical companion to Chaucer
Call Number: PR 1903.R673 2007
ISBN: 0816061939
A bibliography of Chaucer, 1974-1985
Call Number: PR 1905.B275 1988
ISBN: 0208021345
A Chaucer glossary
Call Number: PR 1947.C5
ISBN: 0198111681
A concordance to the complete works of Geoffrey Chaucer
Call Number: PR 1941.T3
Classical and Medieval Literary Criticism
Call Number: PN 651.5.C57
Also available online through the Literature Criticism Online Database

One of your friendly librarians

Abigail Pore

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

WML 157

(910) 893-1407

Subjects: Applied Leadership, Biomedical Humanities, Christian Studies, COSU 100, Divinity, English, Philosophy, Writing Toolkit

Requesting Materials

Get Materials from Campbell Libraries

Request Materials from Wiggins Library to:

Place an item on hold
Get a scan of a chapter/commentary
Have materials mailed to you

Get Materials Campbell Doesn't Have

Interlibrary Loan (ILL): Request print books and articles to receive them through Campbell Libraries.
WorldCat: Search the world's libraries to see what books are out there on a given topic.

ENGL 409: Chaucer: Home