LibGuides: ENGL 101: Academic Writing: Research Tools

Campbell Resources we used in class

We discussed the following tabs in class:

OneSearch Tab

- OneSearch is used to find journal articles, books, e-books, DVDs, videos, newspapers, and more.

Database tab
- The Database tab is used to find journal articles, magazine articles, e-books, and newspapers.

Document Delivery

Need a Print Book?

Books physically located at the library can be delivered to online education and extended campus students by postal mail. Books not owned by Campbell University Libraries can be borrowed from other libraries, and delivered to you by postal mail.

Learn how to request a book delivery.

If you have questions about Document Delivery, you may contact a librarian at reference@campbell.edu, or via phone at (910) 893-1467.

When we don't have it...

Resources not owned by the Campbell University Libraries can be borrowed from other libraries through ILLiad, an interlibrary loan (ILL) system available to Campbell faculty, staff, and students as an aid to research and study. Request it through our Interlibrary Loan service and we will borrow it from another library. This service is free of cost. Please allow up to 4-5 days for book requests, and 2-3 days for articles.

Check out this online tutorial to learn how to use ILLiad.

OneSearch

OneSearch combines most of the library's books, journal articles, and digital resources into a single search.

More OneSearch Help

Note: Pay close attention to computer generated citations before using them in your papers.

Databases You'll Find Helpful in Addition to OneSearch

The following databases contain information about a wide range of topics.

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A collection of full text scholarly journals in the following subject areas: African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, and Statistics.

ProQuest Central
This resource provides access to 27 of ProQuest's most highly used databases, with a variety of content types across over 160 subjects, making this the broadest single research resource in the world. These 27 databases cover the full range of academic disciplines.

Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE provides online, worldwide, institutional subscription access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

One of your friendly librarians

Abigail Pore

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

WML 157

(910) 893-1407

Subjects: Applied Leadership, Biomedical Humanities, Christian Studies, COSU 100, Divinity, English, Philosophy, Writing Toolkit

Useful Electronic Reference Sources- Background Research

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, non-biased reporting and analysis on issues shaping our world.

CREDO Reference
An online reference library that has over 350 titles from 60 different publishers.
SIRS Knowledge Source
This resource contains articles, primary sources, websites and graphics to support K-12 students with research, study and homework. SIRS Knowledge Source includes a number of databases from ProQuest, including ProQuest SIRS Issues Researcher, ProQuest SIRS Government Reporter, ProQuest SIRS Renaissance, and ProQuest SIRS WebSelect.

Some Useful Websites

Below are some useful sites to go to for background information.

ProCon.org
Our purpose is to provide resources for critical thinking and to educate without bias. We research issues that are controversial and important, and we present them in a balanced, comprehensive, straightforward, transparent, and primarily pro-con format at no charge.

ENGL 101: Academic Writing: Research Tools

Off-campus access