General Information - EDUC 622 - Research - LibGuides at Campbell University

Useful Education Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is EBSCO's comprehensive scholarly database, covering most subjects. It contains more than 10,000 full text peer reviewed journals and magazines. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 15,000 journals.
Online Tutorial
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, non-biased reporting and analysis on issues shaping our world.
ERIC (via EbscoHost) This link opens in a new window
Indexes ERIC documents (ED) and ERIC journals (EJ) from 1966. Many are in full-text since 1993. The Library has a collection of ERIC documents in microfiche filed by ED number. ERIC journals owned by the Library are found by the journal title.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Over 12,000 full-length, streaming educational videos in many academic disciplines.
Image Quest via Encyclopaedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Image Quest has nearly 3 million images from nearly 50 of the best collections in the world. All images in Image Quest are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a collection of full text scholarly journals in a wide variety of subject areas, providing entire backfiles of key journals. Campbell has access to JSTOR Arts and Sciences I through VIII and XI, as well as specific collections for Life Sciences, Religion and Theology.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE provides online, worldwide, institutional subscription access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
Online Tutorial
PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
International in scope, this resource from the American Psychological Association provides access to thousands of actual test instruments, most of which are available for immediate download and use in teaching and research. PsycTESTS is an authoritative source of structured information about tests of interest to a variety of fields, and while focused on contemporary instances of test use, has coverage that spans more than a century.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, featuring tools to track, analyze and visualize research. For peer-reviewed research published since 1995, Scopus delivers the most comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Online Tutorial
TeachingBooks This link opens in a new window
TeachingBooks.net is a database of multimedia materials about children's and young adult books, authors, and illustrators. Designed for teachers, it includes aids such as lesson plans and book discussion guides for almost every book being taught in the K-12 curriculum.
Online Tutorial
Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).

This search displays, by title, the library's holdings for over 94,000 periodicals, including scholarly journals, popular magazines, and newspapers (such as Science, Time, and The Wall Street Journal).

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P R S T U V W

Browse by subject:

Advanced Search

APA, Literature Review, and Research Proposal Formats

APA Style Tutorial
This aid includes examples of in text citations, reference page citations and paper formatting in APA style. The aid is based off of the 6th ed.
Purdue Online Writing Lab-APA Format
This resource, revised according to the 6th edition, second printing of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page. For more information, please consult the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th edition, second printing.
Sample Formal APA Format Research Paper
A sample APA research paper that includes guidelines on how to write your own.
Writing a Literature Review
This handout is provided by Portland State University with permission form the Asian Institute of Technology. It thoroughly explains what a literature review is, the format, and gives examples on how to cite the literature that is reviewed.
The Elements of a Research Proposal
This site provided by a professor at Emory University features an easy to understand outline on what should be included in your research proposal.
Sample Research Proposal Provided by SAGE
This sample research proposal can be used as a guideline as to how to format your own RP.

E-book Research Resources

Action Research In the Classroom by Vivienne Baumfield
Call Number: LB1028.24 .B38 2008
ISBN: 9781446204528
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Acknowledgements; List of Figures and Tables; 1 Creating and Translating Knowledge about Teaching and Learning; 2 Deciding on a Research(able) Question and Choosing Complementary Research Tools; 3 Taking Account of Pupil Perspectives in Your Enquiry; 4 Exploring Your Own and Your Colleagues' Professional Knowledge; 5 Engaging with the Views of Parents and Other Adults; 6 Making Sense of Your Evidence and Bringing it all Together; 7 Sharing Your Findings; Bibliography; Index;

Do you have a RefWorks account?

New to RefWorks or want to start using the new version?
Sign up for an Individual Account

When signing up for your account, use your Campbell e-mail address to prove affiliation with Campbell University.

New RefWorks is recommended.

Support is being phased out for RefWorks Legacy. Ask a librarian how to transfer your folders and citations to New RefWorks or look for instructions on the New RefWorks Research Guide.

LC Classification for Juvenile Literature (CMMC) and Education Titles (CMMC/Basement)

Juvenile non-fiction titles are located in classes within the topic of their regular subject heading class from A (general works) to Z (bibliography). Below is a quick guide resource for popular subject headings for children’s literature which will lead to educated browsing of the CMMC collection.

Classification	Subclass	Subject Heading
P		Language and Literature
PE		English Language
	PE 1155 PE 1628	Alphabet Books Juvenile Dictionaries
PN		Liteature (General)
	PN6110 PN 6371 PN 6727-6790	Poetry Riddles Comic books/Graphic novels
PR		English Literature
PS		American Literature
PZ		Fiction and Juvenile
	PZ 5	Collections
	PZ 6	Early to 1860/1870
	PZ 7	General Juvenile Fiction Alphabetical by author last name
	PZ 7.7	More graphic novels
	PZ 8	Fairy tales
	PZ 8.1	Folklore, Legends, Romance
	PZ 8.2	Fables
	PZ 8.3	Stories in Rhyme
	PZ 10.3	Animal Stories
	PZ 73-78	Languages: Spanish

For research resources browse or search the following subject headings in the CMMC or in the basement of Wiggins Memorial Library:

Call Number Range	Subject
L7-991	Education (General)
LA5-2396	History of education
LB5-3640	Theory and practice of education
LC8-6691	Special aspects of education
LD13-LG961	Individual institutions
LJ3-165	Student fraternities and societies, United States
LT6-1001	Textbook

Find Databases

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P R S T U V W

Database List

Browse by subject:

Find Journals

0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Other

Browse by subject:

Off-Campus Access to Online Databases

Online databases are restricted to the Campbell University community. To access off-campus, provide your Campbell WebAccess username and password.

Circulation Services

The Circulation staff helps users borrow materials from our libraries and from other libraries. Articles and books the library does not own can be ordered through our Interlibrary Loan ILLiad system.

Circulation loan and fine policies, including borrowing privileges for CU students, faculty, and staff, are detailed in the Circulation Policy.

Review or renew your library materials online at My Account.

One of your friendly librarians

Ron Epps

He/Him

Email Me

Contact:

Office Phone: (910)893-1472

Research Assistance: (910) 893-1467

Fax: (910)893-1470

(910) 893-1472

Subjects: Criminal Justice, Geography, Government, History, Homeland Security, Military Science, Political Science

Library Presentation

Library Presentation

This is the slide show for the library presentation that was given at the beginning of the semester.

EDUC 622 - Research: General Information

Useful Education Databases

Search Campbell Library Resources

APA, Literature Review, and Research Proposal Formats

E-book Research Resources

Do you have a RefWorks account?

LC Classification for Juvenile Literature (CMMC) and Education Titles (CMMC/Basement)

Find Databases

Find Journals

Off-Campus Access to Online Databases

Circulation Services

One of your friendly librarians

Library Presentation

Find It!