It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Drug Information Center - DIC: General Information
Information that will help you during your DIC rotation
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
If an item is in Microfilm it is downstairs in the basement. You need to stop by the research assistance desk and pick up a bypass key for the machines. When you are finished come back to the research assistance desk and fill out a sheet telling how many copies you made.
Off campus access to the databases
All of the databases can be accessed from off campus through the proxy server. Please contact the research assistance desk if you have any questions about your username and password.
Access Medicine provides access to more than 75 medical titles from McGraw-Hill, with regularly updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic and point-of-care tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to view from and download content to a mobile device.
Access Pharmacy allows users to select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, review textbooks, search across leading pharmacy online references and view optimized content on a mobile device.
Designed for doctors, research scientists, students, clinical specialists and managers, this database provides nearly 900 full text journals, including nearly 850 peer-reviewed publications, covering virtually all areas of medical study. Journals available in full text in Biomedical Reference Collection: Comprehensive Edition are indexed in MEDLINE.
This database covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, consumer health, and 17 allied health disciplines, and contains indexing for 2,717 nursing journals and publications dating back to 1982,including indexing for journals, books and book chapters, dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, pamphlets, educational software packages and audiovisual material. Full text for over 300 journals is provided.
Clinical Pharmacology is designed to provide timely, concise drug information and clinical reports for medical professionals and health care consumers.
Restricted access to College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences faculty/students only.
A peer-reviewed and fully referenced database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Among the data included are maternal and infant levels of drugs, possible effects on breastfed infants and on lactation, and alternate drugs to consider.
A reference for clinical decision making, EE+ features over 13,000 topics, guidelines, abstracts, and summaries that cover the most common conditions, diseases, and procedures clinicians encounter. This clinical reference tool was designed for use by physicians, nurses, and other health care professionals on the frontline of patient care. Online Tutorial
Facts and Comparisons E Answers allows access to a complete library of drug information references: Drug Facts and Comparisons®, Drug Interaction Facts™, Drug Interaction Facts™: Herbal Supplements and Food, MedFacts: Patient information, The Review of Natural Products, A to Z Drug Facts™, Nonprescription Drug Therapy™, Off-Label Drug Facts, and Drug Identifier.
Health News Daily provides daily coverage of a broad spectrum of healthcare issues including prescription pharmaceuticals, medical devices and diagnostics, over-the-counter pharmaceuticals and dietary supplements, biomedical research, federal health policy, Medicare/Medicaid, technology reimbursement and cost containment. Special emphasis is placed on regulatory and legislative developments.
Provides information on drug information, geriatric dosage, natural products, poisoning & toxicology, recently approved medications, laboratory tests, infectious diseases, pediatric dosage, oncology drug information, drug images, drug interactions, diagnostic procedures, anesthesiology and critical care drug information, and nutrient depletion drug information.
Liebert Online provides electronic access to Mary Ann Liebert, Inc. peer-reviewed journals in discipline areas of biomedical research/life sciences, biotechnology, clinical medicine/surgery, complimentary/alternative medicine, engineering/informatics, law, psychology, and public health/policy.
MEDLINEplus has extensive information for health professionals and consumers from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on hundreds of diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and dictionaries, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
The MICROMEDEX Healthcare Series provides a wide range of databases tailored to meet the needs of healthcare professionals, including information related to drugs, acute care, toxicology, and patient education.
Pharmaceutical Approvals Monthly provides in-depth coverage of U.S. drug development and approval process, including behind-the-scenes analyses of FDA's approval decisions. This specialized monthly also provides extensive listings of pending applications at FDA and their user fee goals, as well as all of FDA's approval actions.
A subscription service for pharmacists to keep them up to date on new developments in drug therapy. The service consists of a monthly letter, plus Detail-Documents available 24 hours a day. Pharmacists receive very short concise updates and advice. The Detail-Documents provide in-depth coverage answering many specific questions related to each topic.
Founded in 1939, "The Pink Sheet" provides in-depth coverage of the prescription pharmaceutical industry. Known as "The Bible" to the prescription pharmaceutical industry, this specialized weekly publication covers regulatory activities of FDA, FTC and CMS; Congress; industry news, such as mergers and acquisitions, new product introductions and executive changes; and financial news, such as companies' sales and earning performance and stock activity. The publication covers research, manufacturing, distribution and the retail sector.
PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 45,000 articles from 57 journals - 46 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1985 to present. Online Tutorial
First time users will need to create a login. Logins can only be created from on campus.
SciFinder is a comprehensive tool for chemistry and chemistry-related research. This database includes extensive content: chemical structures and properties; reactions and syntheses; and a massive listing of scholarly journal and patent citations. Online Tutorial
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, featuring tools to track, analyze and visualize research. For peer-reviewed research published since 1995, Scopus delivers the most comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Online Tutorial
SPORTDiscus is a comprehensive resource covering sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, sport law & legislation, facility design & management, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, recreation, and a variety of related disciplines. Full Text is available for over 530 journals.
SPORTDiscus covers sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation, college & university sport, disabled persons, facility design & management, intramural & school sport, doping, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport & exercise psychology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, occupational health & therapy, public health and more.
A population specialty site for women. It is a relatively new gateway site of health information for consumers, health care professionals, researchers, and educators and is sponsored by the U.S. Public Health Service's Office on Women's Health. It provides access to a variety of women's federal resources in addition to those in the private sector. The stated goal of the site is "to help ensure a healthier future for all American women."