LibGuides: *Communication Studies Research Guide: Search for Information

The Search String Toolkit

The Boolean Operators: AND, OR, and NOT

AND
AND finds sources that mention both listed concepts.
Wikipedia AND accuracy

OR
OR finds sources that mention either of the two concepts.
Wikipedia AND (accuracy OR reliability)

NOT
NOT excludes sources that mention a certain concept.
Wikipedia AND (accuracy OR reliability) NOT “drug information”

Other Helpful Tools:

QUOTES
Quotes link phrases together. Putting the phrase “drug information” in quotes searches sources with that exact phrase, instead of searching sources with the word “drug” and “information” separately.

TRUNCATION
Truncation allows you to search a word in its varying forms. To use truncation, type the root of the word and place the truncation symbol (often an *) behind it.

Searching for accura* will include sources that use the term accurate and the term accuracy.
Wikipedia AND (accura* OR reliab*)

Requesting Materials

Get Materials from Campbell Libraries

Request Materials from Wiggins Library to:

Place an item on hold
Get a scan of a chapter/commentary
Have materials mailed to you

Get Materials Campbell Doesn't Have

Interlibrary Loan (ILL): Request print books and articles to receive them through Campbell Libraries.
WorldCat: Search the world's libraries to see what books are out there on a given topic.

Communication Studies Theories

A-Z Listing
This list may not be exhaustive. See course textbook as well.

Search Library Resources: OneSearch

OneSearch is a great place to start your research, as it combines most of the library's books, journal articles, and digital resources into a single search. Search OneSearch from the library website.

Tutorial: One Search Basics OneSearch Basics
Tutorial: One Search Advanced OneSearch Advanced

Databases for Scholarly Articles

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
This database offers full-text journal articles as well as indexing and abstracts that are helpful in finding research on topics in the Communication Studies discipline.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a collection of full text scholarly journals in a wide variety of subject areas, including Communication Studies.
ProQuest Telecommunications Database This link opens in a new window
Covers topics including computer applications, data communications and data transmission systems, electronic data processing, information science and information theory, radio and television.

Mass Media Resources

Local News

National News

* Print newspapers are available in the Wiggins Memorial Library Periodicals Reading Room.

Archival News Collections

News & Observer, Raleigh, NC (19th Century US Newspapers)

TV News Search and Borrow This link opens in a new window
The collection now contains more than 350,000 news programs collected over 3 years from national U.S. networks and stations in San Francisco and Washington D.C. The archive is updated with new broadcasts 24 hours after they are aired. Older materials are also being added.

Databases for Background Research

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Collection of research reports on recent news topics and issues of broad interest in the public policy sphere.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Database that provides access to thousands of articles from reference sources such as encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Encyclopedia Britannica Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
General encyclopedia with carefully edited articles on all major topics.

Ask A Librarian

Librarians are good resources for help with research, locating information, and citations. There are plenty of ways to get in touch!

Ask a librarian for help via:

Consultation appointment
24/7 chat
Online video room
email or phone

library.campbell.edu/ask

Your Subject Librarian

Meredith Beeman

She/Her

Email Me

Contact:

Wiggins Memorial Library, 1st Floor, Office 156

910-893-1473

Subjects: Chemistry, Communication Studies, Engineering, Honors Program, Liberal Arts, Math and Computer Science, Mathematics, Physics