LibGuides: Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses: Primary Literature

Pre-Appraised Articles (Trials, Studies, and Some Reviews)

POEMs research summaries
The archived collection of 3,500+ regularly updated Daily POEMs. POEMs ("Patient-Oriented Evidence that Matters") are synopses of new evidence carefully filtered for relevance to patient care and evaluated for validity, from continuous review, grading, and critical appraisal of all 3000+ studies published monthly in more than 100 journals.
University of York Centre for Reviews and Dissemination
National Institute for Health & Care Excellence
The National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) provides national guidance and advice to improve health and social care.

CINHAL with Full Text
A good resource to find literature in allied health (Nursing, OT, PT, Sports Medicine, et.) and complementary and alternative medicine. Results can be limited to individual studies and trials by applying “Randomized Controlled Trials” or the Clinical Queries filters.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides more than 400 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 500 journals. This product offering also includes USP Pharmacopoeia DI: Volume II Advice for the Lay Patient and Stedman's Medical Dictionary.
ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
Journals and dissertations covering nursing, allied health, and alternative and complementary medicine.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.