LibGuides: Research Crash Course: Research Basics

Research Crash Course Overview

The Research Crash Course may be used in two ways.

Faculty may assign these short units to their students to supplement their research related instruction.
Students may view them at their own pace to improve their own research habits.

If you have any suggestions for other modules please let me know. Ron Epps: eppsw@campbell.edu

1. Library of Congress Call Numbers

Library of Congress Call Number Classification Overview
This Library of Congress site gives an overview of the call number subjects. When clicking on the links, students can find additional information about the subheadings of each classification.

2. Plagiarism (Goblin threat plagiarism game)

Goblin Threat
The campus has been taken over by plagiarism goblins. Players are tasked with finding and eliminating goblins by correctly answering the questions about plagiarism and how to avoid it.

Game by Mary J. Snyder Broussard, Lycoming College in Williamsport, VA.

3. Publication Cycle

Publication Cycle
A short video explaining the Publication Cycle.

4. Background Research

Background Research
A short video about the importance of doing background research, and some good sources to use for background research.

5. Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
An explanation of what Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is, and how you can create an ILL account.

6. Peer Review

Peer Review in 3 Minutes
Explains what Peer Review is and why you should care.

Produced by NCSU libraries.

7. How to find a book on the shelves

How to find books on our library shelves
Printable sheet showing how to find a book in the stacks.

8. Finding Literary Criticism in EBSCO Databases

Finding Literary Criticism in EBSCO Databases
A video describing how to use EBSCO databases to find literary criticism.
The video also shows some of the tools that the database that will make your research easier.

9. Finding Literary Criticism in Literature Online

Literature Online
Literature Online is a very useful literary database. This short video shows how to use it to find author information, full text of literary works, and literary criticism.

10. Learn to Use RefWorks in Twenty Minutes

Learn to Use RefWorks in Twenty Minutes
This short video shows how to get started using RefWorks.

11. What is a Database

What is a database?
A short video explaining what a database is.

12. MLA Style

MLA Style- 8th Ed.

13. Relevancy: How to Determine if Information You Find is Going to be Useful

Relevancy: How to determine if an article or book is going to be relevant to your research
A video showing how you can evaluate sources you find for relevancy

14. Library Lab Posters

These are based on the ACRL Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education. These are the posters that are in the library computer lab.

15. Factitious

Factitious
This web based game tests your ability to evaluate news to determine if the source is credible. After each choice the game shows how you can detect if the source was real or made up.

16. Research Podcast

If you want more information about research in addition to these podcasts read The Craft of Research at Q180.55.M4 B66 2016 (Wiggins Basement). The book is also available in an ebook format that you can reach by clicking here.

17. OneSearch Basics

OneSearch Basics
This tutorial shows you the basics of how to use the OneSearch for finding journal articles.

18. OneSearch Advanced

OneSearch Advanced
This tutorial shows how to use advanced features of the OneSearch to make your research easier.

19. Finding Book Reviews

Finding Book Reviews
This tutorial shows how to use the OneSearch to find book reviews.