LibGuides: HIST 222: U.S. History 1865 to the Present: General Information

Finding Scholarly Book Reviews

How to find scholarly book reviews:

Go to an appropriate database. (If you are looking for reviews of history books you wouldn't go to a medical database like PubMed. If you don't know which databases would be appropriate, check out the Useful Databases tab.)
In the search box, type in the title of the book. If the title contains multiple words, put quotation marks around the title.
If you have the option of telling the database you want to search subjects, search subjects.
Make sure that you set your limits to only return scholarly articles.

Important Note:

It is possible that there may be no scholarly book reviews for your book.

A guide for written work submitted to the Department of Government, History And Justice

A guide for written work submitted to the Department of Government, History and Justice
The style guide used by the Department of Government, History and Justice

This search displays, by title, the library's holdings for over 94,000 periodicals, including scholarly journals, popular magazines, and newspapers (such as Science, Time, and The Wall Street Journal).

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P R S T U V W

Browse by subject:

Advanced Search

Some Useful Reference Books

Great Events from History by John Powell (Editor); Christina J. Moose (Editorial Coordinator); Dawn P. Dawson (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: REF D358.G74 2006
ISBN: 9781587652974
Publication Date: 2006
4 volume set. The full text of the articles are also available online in the Salem History database.

The following books are in the reference collection in Wiggins Memorial Library, and may be useful for your research in this class.

The 20th Century, 1901-1940 by Robert F. Gorman (Editor)
Call Number: REF D421.G629 2007
ISBN: 9781587653247
Publication Date: 2007
6 volume set. The full text of the articles are also available online in the Salem History database.
Great Events from History by Robert F. Gorman
Call Number: REF D421.G6295 2008
ISBN: 9781587653315
Publication Date: 2007
6 volume set. The full text of the articles are also available online in the Salem History database.
Great Events from History by Robert F. Gorman
Call Number: REF D421.G6296 2008
ISBN: 9781587653384
Publication Date: 2008
6 volume set. The full text of the articles are also available online in the Salem History database.
The Fifties in America by John C. Super (Editor); R. Kent Rasmussen (Editorial Coordinator); Christina J. Moose (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: REF E169.12.A165 2005
ISBN: 1587652021
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
3 volume set.
The Sixties in America by Carl Singleton (Editor); Rowena Wildin (Editorial Coordinator); Christina J. Moose (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: REF E169.12.A166 1999
ISBN: 0893569828
Publication Date: 1999-03-01
3 volume set.
The Seventies in America by John C. Super (Editor); Tracy Irons-Geroges (Editorial Coordinator); Christina J. Moose (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: REF E169.12.A167 2006
ISBN: 9781587652288
Publication Date: 2005
3 volume set.
The Eighties in America by Milton Berman
Call Number: REF E169.12.A168 2008
ISBN: 9781587654190
Publication Date: 2008
This is a 3 volume set.
New Dictionary of American History by Stanley I. Kutler
Call Number: REF E174.D52 2003
ISBN: 9780684805238
Publication Date: 2002
This is a 10 volume set.
The Chicago Manual of Style by University of Chicago Staff (Editor)
Call Number: LB2369.C38 2010
ISBN: 9780226104201
Publication Date: 2010
We have multiple copies of this book. The copy in reference cannot be checked out. You can go into the stacks and check out the copies there.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Eighth Edition by Kate L. Turabian; Wayne C. Booth (Revised by); Gregory G. Colomb (Revised by); University of Chicago Press Staff (Revised by); Joseph M. Williams (Revised by)
Call Number: REF LB2369.T8
ISBN: 9780226816388
Publication Date: 2013
We have multiple copies of this book. The copy in reference cannot be checked out. You can go into the stacks and check out the copies there.