LibGuides: Evidence-Based Medicine: Background

Clinical Summaries

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
An excellent background resource for students and clinicians interested in efficiently filling holes in their knowledge base. UpToDate is a large on-line medical textbook (~80,000 pages of text) containing short, well-written discussions of medical topics in internal medicine, pediatrics, ob/gyn and family medicine. Each review article is written by an expert in the field being discussed, and is designed to provide a quick way to get up to speed. Approximately 40% of the content is updated every four months.
Restricted access to College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences and School of Osteopathic Medicine only
Essential Evidence Plus This link opens in a new window
Although EE+ consists of several databases, the one most relevant to those looking for background info is Essential Evidence Topics, which includes over 700 concise, easily digestible, disease topic summaries of interest to primary care clinicians.

Medscape Reference
Free online medical reference available to physicians and other health care professionals. Content is updated regularly by more than 8,000 attributed physician or health care providers. Medscape Reference contains articles on over 6,500 diseases and medical topics, and is illustrated with more than 25,000 multimedia files. Medscape Reference articles do undergo a certain amount physician peer review plus an additional review by a PharmD prior to publication.

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Provides the full-text of 60 of the top current clinical textbooks including Harrison’s Online and Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment. Textbooks can be searched as group or individually. Users can also drill down through each book to view full chapters and sections. In addition, AccessMedicine offers a video/audio database, image database (with thousands of photos/illustrations), interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools, and the ability to download content to a mobile device.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Upgraded and expanded from MD Consult, this point-of-care research and "clinical insight engine" contains hundreds of Elsevier's medical books, textbooks and very current journals, Procedures Consult's procedural videos, the First Consult POC interface, additional videos and images, practice guidelines, patient handouts, and drug information from Gold Standard.