Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
A database of top quality, constantly updated, systematic reviews (meta-analyses) created by the Cochrane Collaboration, an international organization of groups of experts. Each of the 6000+ reviews are developed using strict methodology. The majority of reviews involve prevention and therapy; however, reviews involving diagnostic test accuracy are now being added (since 2008).
Note: The default is to search all Cochrane databases; to search CDSR only, look for "Search CDSR" in the Cochrane Reviews pull-down menu.
ACP Journal Club
Scans more than 100 clinical journals for high impact clinical studies or reviews that “warrant the attention of clinicians.” Provides abstracts with results and commentary for each article included.
A meta search engine of many levels of literature including EBM synopses, systematic reviews, guidelines, primary literature, etc. Unlike PubMed and some of the other reviews resources, TRIP covers non-published reports and summaries.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) Evidence Reports
A collection of evidence reports and technology assessments based on rigorous, comprehensive syntheses and analyses of relevant scientific literature, emphasizing explicit and detailed documentation of methods, rationale, and assumptions. The Evidence Reports are produced by the Evidence Practice Centers for the US Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.
US Preventive Service Task Force Recommendation Statements
Reviews of the scientific evidence on preventive services (screening, counseling, and preventive medications) from an independent panel of experts made up of mainly primairy care providers.
Largest database devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Contains millions of records from journal articles (from ~2500 journals), books, book chapters, technical reports, and dissertations. Results can be limited to systematic reviews by applying the meta analysis or systematic review limit in the Methodology section of the search options.
CINAHL with Full Text
The best resource to find literature in allied health (Nursing, OT, PT, Sports Medicine, etc.) and complementary and alternative medicine. Results can be limited to systematic reviews by applying the meta-analysis or systematic review limit in the "Publication type" section.
Evidence Based Practice Guidelines
Essential Evidence Plus- EBMG Guidelines
Aimed at primary care physicians, EBMG Guidelines includes 1,000 concise, evidence-based summaries of symptoms and diseases, over 3,000 high quality evidence summaries and a library of 1,000 photographs and images.
Guidelines are included from US, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, the UK and more.
Current Practice Guidelines in Primary Care (AccessMedicine)
This handy guide draws information from many sources of the latest guidelines for preventive services, screening methods, and treatment approaches commonly encountered in the outpatient setting.