Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is EBSCO's comprehensive scholarly database, covering most subjects. It contains more than 10,000 full text peer reviewed journals and magazines. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 15,000 journals.
Ejournals In Education
Included only links to electronic journals in the field of education that are scholarly, peer-reviewed, full text and accessible without cost.
ERIC (via ERIC official site)
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC), sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, produces the world’s premier database of journal and non-journal education literature. The new ERIC online system, released September 2004, provides the public with a centralized ERIC Web site for searching the ERIC bibliographic database of more than 1.1 million citations going back to 1966. Effective October 1, more than 107,000 full-text non-journal documents (issued 1993-2004), previously available through fee-based services only, will be available for free.
Films on Demand
Over 12,000 full-length, streaming educational videos in many academic disciplines.
Flocabulary is an online library of hundreds of songs, videos and activities for grades K-12 created by a team of educators and hip-hop artists.
Kanopy Streaming Video
Kanopy is a streaming video service that includes educational and documentary films from a variety of collections in different disciplines. Currently the library offers the Hawker Brownlow Education collection and an assortment of on-demand titles in various disciplines.
TeachingBooks.net is a database of multimedia materials about children's and young adult books, authors, and illustrators. Designed for teachers, it includes aids such as lesson plans and book discussion guides for almost every book being taught in the K-12 curriculum.
Going On 13: A Chronicle of Preteen Girls Coming of Age
This documentary portrays a reality far more complex than viewers are used to seeing in the media concerning preteen girls and urban girls of color. Without simplifying or sensationalizing their lives, the film shows the four featured girls as multifaceted and gripping individuals. Using a mix of intimate interviews, cinema vérité, and stop-motion animation, Going On 13 chronicles the girls’ coming of age. The girls talk about themselves. They take viewers into their world, with the music, television, digital media, and books they adoringly ingest (and that rarely reflect their own families’ economic or cultural backgrounds), providing texture, context, and contrast for the social and emotional challenges they face. Some content may be objectionable. (73 minutes)
Item Number: 50017
Date Added: 01/16/2013
Middle Grades Sites for Educators
Common Core Standards
On June 2, 2010, North Carolina adopted the Common Core State Standards in K-12 Mathematics and K-12 English Language Arts released by the National Governors Association Center for Best Practices and the Council of Chief State School Officers. With the adoption of these state-led education standards, North Carolina is in the first group of states to embrace clear and consistent goals for learning to prepare children for success in college and work.