EDUC 435 - Mathematics for Elementary Education: Internet Resources

Manga High allows teachers to register themselves and their students to play mathematics games. Teachers who register their classes are able to monitor statistics about their students' use of the games.

Plus Magazine is a free online publication dedicated to introducing readers to practical applications of mathematics. Plus Magazine strives to reach that goal through the publication of mathematics-related news articles, podcasts, and mathematics puzzles designed around "real-life" scenarios.

Yummy Math is a website designed for the purpose of sharing mathematics problems and scenarios based on things happening in the world today.

Math Live is a neat mathematics website developed by Learn Alberta. Math Live presents students with animated stories that teach mathematics lessons.

This site collects free online math games and organizes them by the common core standards.

NCTM serves math teachers, math educators, and administrators by providing math resources and professional development opportunities.

The North Carolina Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCCTM) is the professional organization in North Carolina of all persons responsible for the teaching of mathematics. Its membership includes teachers from all levels, kindergarten through graduate school, and other professionals who work with curriculum and materials for the teaching of mathematics. You'll find out more about NCCTM through the website, including state and regional conferences, publications, grants and awards, and other prof

the Association for Middle Level Education (AMLE), formerly National Middle School Association has been a voice for those committed to the educational and developmental needs of young adolescents. AMLE is the only national education association dedicated exclusively to those in the middle grades.

A comprehensive site that is updated regularly.

Get the Math is a multimedia project about algebra in the real world. See how professionals working in fashion, video game design, and music production use algebraic thinking. Then take on interactive challenges related to those careers.

HippoCampus includes presentations and videos in several subject areas, including biology, statistics, calculus, environmental science, physics, and algebra.

A site for locating videos and exercises appropriate for teaching a variety of mathematics concepts at a variety of grade levels.

This content is aligned to state standards, and the lesson plans include objectives, materials, procedures, readings and resources, vocabulary terms, discussion questions, and rubrics.

Offers more than 2,700 instructional videos covering math, science, finance, and history.

A free online graphing utility. Graph.tk allows you to plot multiple functions through its dynamically resizing grid. To graph an equation on Graph.tk just click the "+" symbol to enter a new equation.

Using this resource you can write quizzes and find quizzes that your students can use. ThatQuiz.org is kind of like a wiki of quizzes because teachers can share with others the quizzes that they have written.

This Website, from The National Council of Teachers of Mathematics, contains classroom activities, lesson plans, standards, and web links.

This Website is sponsored by a nonprofit group to improve mathematics education. Check out the Teacher Resources for the Classroom section for lesson plans and activities, games, virtual manipulatives and more.

A selection of math tools, lesson plans and other resources, searchable by topic, resource type, and grade level.

A useful Website that contains an "Educator Tools" section, which includes Free Classroom Lessons.

Includes math activities based on standard from the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM).

Project that helps to visualize large amounts of money.

From Utah State University, computer-based mathematical manipulatives and interactive learning tools for elementary and middle school levels.

See Teacher Resources/Lesson plans for detailed lesson plans and actvities for PreK-Teen. Teen lesson plans are also available for students with special needs.

Includes almost 200 lesson plans covering various topics in mathematics.

Save Our History is an Emmy® Award-winning outreach initiative launched by HISTORY in 1998 to further historic preservation and history education. The program supplements the teaching of history in America's classrooms, educates the public on the importance of historical preservation, and motivates communities across the country to help save endangered local historic treasures.

Snag Learning offers free access to high quality documentary films from notable producers like National Geographic and NOVA.

TimeRime allows users to create timelines that include text, images, audio, and video. One of the better features of TimeRime is that you can have more than one type of media for each event on your timeline.

Includes standards-based K-12 lesson plans. The site allows for searching by keyword and by grade level and subject. Search this database for videos, interactives, and lesson plans. Filter your search by subject, grade level, state standards and more. This site is a partnership of institutions such as ISTE, EconEd, Edsitement, and others.