Biblical Studies Resources: Dictionaries

Location:
* Theological Reference Collection (Kivett 3rd Floor)
* Kivett (2nd Floor)

Written by specialists in cooperation with the Society of Biblical Literature for an audience of non-specialists.

Location:
* Theological Reference Collection (Kivett 3rd Floor)
* Kivett (2nd Floor)

Written by over 200 members of the National Association of Baptist Professors of Religion

Location: Theological Reference Collection (Kivett 3rd Floor)

Location: Theological Reference Collection (Kivett 3rd Floor)

**Recommended for Survey, Ch. 3, Gorman, Elements of Biblical Exegesis.**

Most expansive dictionary both in terms of breadth and depth, includes helpful bibliographies.

Location: Theological Reference Collection (Kivett 3rd Floor)

**Recommended for Survey, Ch. 3, Gorman, Elements of Biblical Exegesis.**

Rival to the Anchor Bible Dictionary

Location: Theological Reference Collection (Kivett 3rd Floor)

**Recommended for Survey, Ch. 3, Gorman, Elements of Biblical Exegesis.**

A major, multivolume reference work in which the key Hebrew and Aramaic words of the Old Testament are discussed in depth. With the emphasis on meaning, each word study starts from the narrower everyday senses of the word and builds to an understanding of theologically significant concepts. Included under each keyword is consideration of the larger groups of words related semantically, as well as detailed surveys of a world's occurrences, both in the biblical material and elsewhere. To aid the Old Testament student who does not have the linguistic background of a scholar, Hebrew words have been transliterated, and meanings of foreign words are provided.