LibGuides: ENGL 417: Modern/Contemporary Poetry: General Information

Poetry Foundation

The Poetry Foundation, publisher of Poetry magazine, is an independent literary
organization committed to a vigorous presence for poetry in our culture. It exists to discover and celebrate the best poetry and to place it before the largest possible audience.

The Poetry Foundation
The Poetry Foundation, publisher of Poetry magazine, is an independent literary
organization committed to a vigorous presence for poetry in our culture. It exists to discover and celebrate the best poetry and to place it before the largest possible audience.

Useful References

Dictionary of Literary Biography
Call Number: PN 451.A54
Dictionary of Literary Biography systematically presents career biographies and criticism of writers from all eras and all genres through volumes dedicated to specific types of literature and time periods.
This source is also available full-text digitally in Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online.
Poetry Criticism
Call Number: PN 1010.P499
ISBN: 10524851
This multi-volume set includes excerpts from criticism of the works of the most significant and widely studied poets of world literature. Entries provide an introductory biographical sketch, an author portrait, a primary bibliography, annotated full text and excerpted criticism of the poets' works and sources for additional reading. When available, comments from the poets themselves are included. Approximately 90-95% of critical essays are full text.
This source is also available full-text digitally in Literature Criticism Online.

Literature Criticism Online contains the Poetry Criticism set full-text digitally.

Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online via Gale Cengage Learning (Full Text): Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.

The Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry
Call Number: PN 1022.C63 2004
ISBN: 0231125283
Granger's is the definitive source in English for locating a poem in anthologies on library shelves. First published in 1904, The Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry is now in its 13th edition.

Search Library Resources: OneSearch

OneSearch is a great place to start your research, as it combines most of the library's books, journal articles, and digital resources into a single search. Search OneSearch from the library website.

Tutorial: One Search Basics OneSearch Basics
Tutorial: One Search Advanced OneSearch Advanced

Databases for Literary Criticism

Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Combines Literature Resource Center with Gale Virtual Reference Library in one interface. Articles, critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, and biographies covering authors, their works, and literary movements.
Literary Reference Plus This link opens in a new window
Articles and criticisms, including peer-reviewed, bios and interviews, novels, short stories, poems, and literary magazines.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Literature Criticism Online sorts criticism topically, by period, and even by author depending on prominence. Also includes Poetry and Short Story criticism.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
An EBSCO database that can be cross-referenced with other literary databases, the MLA International Bibliography is a great starting point for literary research.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
While an interdisciplinary resource, JSTOR is great specifically for short story research.

One of your friendly librarians

Abigail Pore

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

WML 157

(910) 893-1407

Subjects: Applied Leadership, Christian Studies, COSU 100, Divinity, English, Philosophy, Writing Toolkit

Do you have a RefWorks account?

New to RefWorks or want to start using the new version?
Sign up for an Individual Account

When signing up for your account, use your Campbell e-mail address to prove affiliation with Campbell University.

New RefWorks is recommended.

Support is being phased out for RefWorks Legacy. Ask a librarian how to transfer your folders and citations to New RefWorks or look for instructions on the New RefWorks Research Guide.