LibGuides: *Biology Research Guide: Search for Information

The Search String Toolkit

The Boolean Operators: AND, OR, and NOT

AND
AND finds sources that mention both listed concepts.
Wikipedia AND accuracy

OR
OR finds sources that mention either of the two concepts.
Wikipedia AND (accuracy OR reliability)

NOT
NOT excludes sources that mention a certain concept.
Wikipedia AND (accuracy OR reliability) NOT “drug information”

Other Helpful Tools:

QUOTES
Quotes link phrases together. Putting the phrase “drug information” in quotes searches sources with that exact phrase, instead of searching sources with the word “drug” and “information” separately.

TRUNCATION
Truncation allows you to search a word in its varying forms. To use truncation, type the root of the word and place the truncation symbol (often an *) behind it.

Searching for accura* will include sources that use the term accurate and the term accuracy.
Wikipedia AND (accura* OR reliab*)

Requesting Materials

Get Materials from Campbell Libraries

Request Materials from Wiggins Library to:

Place an item on hold
Get a scan of a chapter/commentary
Have materials mailed to you

Get Materials Campbell Doesn't Have

Interlibrary Loan (ILL): Request print books and articles to receive them through Campbell Libraries.
WorldCat: Search the world's libraries to see what books are out there on a given topic.

Search Library Resources: OneSearch

OneSearch is a great place to start your research, as it combines most of the library's books, journal articles, and digital resources into a single search. Search OneSearch from the library website.

Tutorial: One Search Basics OneSearch Basics
Tutorial: One Search Advanced OneSearch Advanced

Databases for Scholarly Articles

ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is a full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books.
ProQuest Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window
Research on animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, health and safety science, entomology, and more.
ProQuest Science Database This link opens in a new window
Applied and general science articles covering topics such as global warming, alternative energy sources, robotic engineering, genetically modified food, and more.
Anatomy.TV This link opens in a new window
Anatomy.TV provides a comprehensive interactive diagram package for anatomy-based courses. This database includes nine anatomical region modules each containing 3D views, clinical text, dissection slides and videos, MRI correlations, biomechanics animations, and self-quizzes.

Databases for Background Research

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Collection of research reports on recent news topics and issues of broad interest in the public policy sphere.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Database that provides access to thousands of articles from reference sources such as encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Encyclopedia Britannica Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
General encyclopedia with carefully edited articles on all major topics.

Your Subject Librarian

Brooke Taxakis

Email Me

Contact:

Brooke's Office: Wiggins 159
Office: 910.814.5579
Circulation Desk: 910.893.1462
Research Assistance: 910.893.1467
Request a Research Consultation

Subjects: Biology, CUFS 100, Environmental Science, Exercise Science, Geology, Physical Sciences, Transfer Students

Ask A Librarian

Librarians are good resources for help with research, locating information, and citations. There are plenty of ways to get in touch!

Ask a librarian for help via:

Consultation appointment
24/7 chat
Online video room
email or phone

library.campbell.edu/ask