LibGuides: ENGL 202: British Literature II for online students: General Information

Useful Databases

These databases are good first choices for finding literary criticism.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography is a bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.5 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers.
Online Tutorial
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
A database of more than 300,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies and key secondary sources.
Online Tutorial
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Literature Criticism Online includes Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400-1800, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Drama Criticism, and Children's Literature Review.
Online Tutorial
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Database for the study of literature including articles, critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, and biographies covering authors, their works, and literary movements.

These databases can also be used to find literary criticism.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is EBSCO's comprehensive scholarly database, covering most subjects. It contains more than 10,000 full text peer reviewed journals and magazines. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 15,000 journals.
Online Tutorial
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE provides online, worldwide, institutional subscription access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
Online Tutorial
Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Articles and criticisms, including peer-reviewed, bios and interviews, novels, short stories, poems, and literary magazines.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a collection of full text scholarly journals in a wide variety of subject areas, providing entire backfiles of key journals. Campbell has access to JSTOR Arts and Sciences I through VIII and XI, as well as specific collections for Life Sciences, Religion and Theology.
Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Articles and criticisms, including peer-reviewed, bios and interviews, novels, short stories, poems, and literary magazines.

Browse by subject:

Browse by subject:

In the Books & Media Tab:

Conduct a subject search on the author of the work in question. This will give you books about the author.
Don't forget to use Boolean Operators (AND, OR, NOT). These can help you focus your results.
If you are looking for literary criticism, try a subject search on the author's last name AND criticism.
If your author is associated with a literary movement (e.g. Harlem Renaissance) do a subject search on the movement.
How do you do a subject search?
- Go to the OneSearch and type in the subject you are looking for (e.g. Harlem Renaissnance), then hit return.
- On the results screen, go next to the search bar and click on the advanced search link
- On the Advanced Search screen you want to go to the drop down menu next to where it says Any field and select subject.
- Under Material Type (to the right of the top search bar) from the drop down menu select Books/eBooks.
- When you've selected all of these, click on the Search link.