Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Subject Headings: Finding Primary Sources in the Catalog
Primary Source Headings
The following subject heading terms can be searched to identify primary sources in the library's catalog. For example:
Subject: Slavery AND Subject: (Sources OR Correspondence OR Diaries)
- Description and travel
- Personal narratives
- Early works
- Correspondence, reminiscences, etc.
- Foreign public opinion
- Public opinion
- Caricatures and cartoons
Articles are usually easier to find, but they will be much more focused on a single topic, so they are better to use later in your research process. These databases offer some specialized features for searching and are more focused than Google Scholar.
African-American Poetry (1750-1900) This link opens in a new window
Nearly 3,000 poems written by African-American poets in the late eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
Twentieth-Century African-American Poetry This link opens in a new window
A collection of poetry written by the most important and influential African American poets of the twentieth century. Presently includes over 6,000 poems from over 100 complete editions by 46 poets.
- American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography via Greenwood (Full Text)
- A collection of the life histories of former slaves in the United States compiled through nearly 4,000 interviews with ex-slaves.
- Biography Reference Bank via EBSCO
- A biography database of in-depth profiles from Current Biography and World Authors, the periodical coverage of Biography Index, and specialist content from Junior Authors & Illustrators.
- Biography Reference Center via EBSCO (Full Text)
- More than 450,000 biographies, including actors, authors, explorers, historical figures, inventors, musicians, Presidents of the United States, scientists and many others.
- Explore the history and culture of North Carolina through original materials from cultural heritage repositories across the state.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online via Gale (Full Text)
- The largest and most comprehensive online historical archive of its kind and an essential resource for advanced study of the eighteenth century, this collection contains every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom between the years 1701 and 1800.
- Films on Demand
- Over 7,000 full-length, streaming educational videos in many academic disciplines.
- Gale Artemis Primary Sources via Gale Cengage Learning (Full Text)
- Gale Artemis is a research environment that integrates formerly disparate digital collections to enable innovative research. The digital collections include the Economist Historical Archive, the Financial Times Historical Archive, Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers, the Sunday Times Digital Archive, the Times Digital Archive, and the Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive.
- Gale Literary Sources via Gale Cengage Learning (Full Text)
- Combines Literature Resource Center with Gale Virtual Reference Library in one interface. Articles, critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, and biographies covering authors, their works, and literary movements.
- Gale NewsVault via Gale (Full Text)
- Gale NewsVault allows you to cross-search six newspaper databases: 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, Economist Historical Archive, Financial Times Historical Archive, Sunday Times Digital Archive, Times Digital Archive, and Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive.
- HeritageQuest via ProQuest
- Treasury of American genealogical sources: unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. Includes historical census, PERSI, Revolutionary War records, and more.
- Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection via ProQuest (Full Text)
- 3.5 million pages of digitized content from over 1,000 NC county newspapers.
- History Vault via ProQuest (Full Text)
- This database provides primary source materials from ProQuest's University Publications of America (UPA) Collection in a digital format. Researchers can access letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and much more from a single interface.
- JSTOR (Full Text)
- JSTOR is a collection of full text scholarly journals in a wide variety of subject areas, providing entire backfiles of key journals. Campbell has access to JSTOR Arts and Sciences I through VIII and XI, as well as specific collections for Life Sciences, Religion and Theology.
- Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers via Gale (Full Text)
- This database contains digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers.
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries via Alexander Street Press (Full Text)
- Over 150,000 pages of published letters and diaries plus 4,000 pages of previously unpublished materials depicting the personal experiences of hundreds of women.
- Contains materials from Colonial times to 1950.
- North Carolina Troops, 1861-1865: A Roster via N.C. Department of Cultural Resources
- This database contains entries for all men who served in North Carolina Civil War units and are listed in the series "North Carolina Troops 1861-1865: A Roster", published by the North Carolina Office of Archives and History.
- OneClick Digital via Recorded Books
- Downloadable audio books are available from this site. You will need to create a new personal account to download and transfer audiobooks.
- Oxford Historical Treaties via Oxford University Press (Full Text)
- Oxford Historical Treaties (OHT) is a resource for historical treaty research and home to the full text of The Consolidated Treaty Series, a comprehensive collection of treaties of all nations concluded from 1648 through 1919.
- Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History (Full Text)
- The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History is the first encyclopedia to provide both historical and contemporary comparisons of the world legal systems.
- Oxford Journals via Oxford University Press (Full Text)
- Over 200 academic and research journals covering a broad range of subject areas.
- ProQuest Congressional (Full Text)
- ProQuest Congressional is a major source of information about the members of Congress and their legislative activities and a primary resource for assessing the many publications of the U.S. Congress from 1969 to present. ProQuest Congressional provides coverage of Congressional publications including House and Senate Committee Reports, Committee Hearings, Committee Prints and Documents. ProQuest Congressional provides extensive legislative histories for acts passed from 1969 to present.
- Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 via Gale Cengage Learning (Full Text)
- Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.
- SAGE Journals Online (Full Text)
- SAGE provides access to over 600 journals in the social sciences, humanities, medicine, engineering, and physical and life sciences.
- Salem History via Salem Press (Full Text)
- Online searchable electronic version of the Decades Series.
- Scopus via Elsevier SciVerse
- Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, featuring tools to track, analyze and visualize research. For peer-reviewed research published since 1995, Scopus delivers the most comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
- SpringerLink (Full Text)
- SpringerLink is Springer's online full-text archive for journals and books. SpringerLink currently offers over 2,600 fully peer-reviewed journals and a growing roster of book series, comprising more than 46,700 books online.
- Stratfor Global Intelligence (Full Text)
- Stratfor is a leading geopolitical analysis and intelligence firm. The library provides access to Stratfor’s reports and predictions on topics such as international security, global politics, energy, and economics.
- Sunday Times Digital Archive via Gale (Full Text)
- The Sunday Times, published since 1822, is a rich complement to the Times (London) Digital Archive. See also Times Digital Archive.
- Coverage: 1822 - 2006
- Times Digital Archive via Gale (Full Text)
- First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive allows users to search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source. See also Sunday Times Digital Archive.
- Coverage: 1785 - 2012
- Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive via Gale (Full Text)
- The complete online fully-searchable edition of the TLS from the first edition in 1902 onwards. This is the essential companion for studying and researching literary activity and critical opinion makers of the 20th and 21st centuries. Since 1902, the TLS has scrutinized, applauded and dissected the work of leading writers and thinkers, offering comprehensive coverage of the most important publications, in every subject, in several languages, as well as reviewing current theatre, cinema, music, and exhibitions.
- Coverage: 1902 - 2013
- U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978 via Gale Cengage Learning (Full Text)
- Containing nearly 11 million pages of records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court in the period 1832-1978, this product provides an essential primary source tool for the study of all aspects of American history as well as the U.S. judicial system.