Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Introduction to RefWorks: Using Write-N-Cite 4

Need Help?

Sarah Steele's picture
Sarah Steele
Contact:
Sarah's Office: 910.893.1466
Research Assistance Desk: 910.893.1467
Circulation Desk: 910.893.1462
Prefer an appointment? Sign up here
CPHS Virtual Office Hours, Thursdays 2pm- 4pm
Website

Write-N-Cite Quick Start Guide

Download the new Write-N-Cite Quick Start Guide to help you get started!

Write-N-Cite Advanced Features and Other Options

Get Started with Write-N-Cite 4 in 4 Easy Steps

Getting Started With Write-N-Cite in 4 Easy Steps

You can get started with Write-N-Cite easily and view the formatting of your in-text citations, footnotes and bibliography – all while you are writing your paper.

To get started:

  •  Click “ProQuest” in your MS Word ribbon to launch Write-N-Cite.
  • Log in to you RefWorks account (you can remain logged in indefinitely!)
  • Insert in-text citations or footnotes and your bibliography
  • Save your paper

Step 1. Launch Write-N-Cite

Note:  The first time you launch Write-N-Cite for Windows, you will must be connected to the internet in order to log in to your RefWorks account and sync your RefWorks database with Write-N-Cite.

Tip:  In most cases, there is no need to log out of Write-N-Cite when you are not using it.   If you are using ProQuest Write-N-Cite for Windows on a public computer without a personal login, you should log out of Write-N-Cite when you complete your work.  If someone does gain access to a system with your RefWorks account logged in to ProQuest for Word, they will not be able to change anything in your account since Write-N-Cite doesn’t have any features to edit your database.

Logging In To Write-N-Cite for Windows:

1. Click ProQuest from the Microsoft Word ribbon.  

PQFW_Ribbon.jpg
 

2. Click "Log In".

PQFW_login1.jpg

3.  Click on either RefWorks (or Flow) to display the appropriate login page (the product in grey is what you are logging in to).

RWFlow_choice.jpg 

For RefWorks, enter your RefWorks username and password or obtain a Login Code by navigating in your RefWorks account to the Tools, Write-N-Cite page.  A unique code is displayed for you and is valid for four hours.  This login code replaces the need for your username and password.  If you use your institutions credentials (Athens or Shibboleth) to log in to Refworks, you MUST copy and use this login code to log in to Write-N-Cite.

Note:  You do not need to obtain a new login code every time you use Write-N-Cite.  You only need a new login code if you have logged out of Write-N-Cite.

Once you have logged in, the tab in the Word ribbon will change to say "RefWorks" or "Flow" depending on what you have logged in to and will function like Write-N-Cite and Flow for Word.

Step 2.  Selecting Your Output Style

The first thing you will want to do is select an output style for your document.  Any in-text citations or footnotes and your bibliography will be displayed in your document while you write your paper – in the output style you have selected.  You can always change the style later if you need to.

1. Click the Style drop down.  You will see a list of RefWorks’ popular styles.

2. Click on the style name or click Select Other Style at the bottom of the list to see your personal “favorites” or any output styles recommended by your organization (group favorites).

3. You can change your output style and the formatting of your paper at any time by clicking on Style and selecting a new output style.

 

Note:  if the output style you need for your paper is NOT in listed in the popular styles, favorites or group favorites, you will need to log in to your RefWorks account and add it using the Output Style Manager.  Once you add the style, you may need to sync ProQuest for Word to download the new style.  Click Sync My Database in the Extras area of Write-N-Cite to download the newly added style.

Step 3.  Write Your Paper and Inserting Citations or Footnotes and Your Bibliography

Note:  You may want to sync your RefWorks database with Write-N-Cite if you have recently added references you want to use in your paper.  Click the Sync my database icon to download new or updated references and output styles.

When you are ready to insert an in-text citation or footnote into your paper:

1.  Click the Insert Citation and Insert New option to launch the insert/edit citation box.  If you have previously used Write-N-Cite, you may see some recently selected citations listed above the Insert New option.   You can select citations displayed from this list or access all your references from the Insert New option.

 

 

2. Once the Insert/Edit Citation box displays, you can access references by folder search for a specific reference.  The search box will search every field of every reference.  You can use “AND” and “OR” when using the search box.     

 

 

Tip: Use the horizontal scroll bar to see the full title of a reference.  Right-clicking on the reference and choosing the item from the context menu will display the complete record (file attachments are not displayed).

Full Reference View:

 

3.  Click on the reference you wish to insert into your paper.  You will see a preview of the formatted citation in your current Output Style.

 

4. Click OK to insert your formatted citation into your paper.

Tip:  To add a second references in a single citation, click the + button in the Compose Citation area and then select the reference from your list.  

5. To insert a footnote instead of an in-text citation, click the Make Footnote checkbox in the Edit Reference area.  Once you make a footnote and finish editing the citation, you will not be able to undo this action.  However, you can always add a new in-text citation.

 

6. You can insert your bibliography anywhere in your paper while you are writing.  Click Bibliography Options, Insert Bibliography.  Note:  the bibliography will be inserted wherever the cursor is in your paper.  You can click Remove Bibliography and re-insert if it you need to change the location.




Step 4. Save your formatted paper (you should really save it periodically while you are writing!).  

Write-N-Cite 4: The Basics

Installing Write-N-Cite 4 and Logging In