Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Pre-Appraised Articles (Trials, Studies, and Some Reviews)
ACP Journal Club
Scans more than 100 clinical journals for high impact clinical studies or reviews that “warrant the attention of clinicians.” Provides abstracts with results and commentary for each article included.
A free resource from BMJ that includes a database of the highest-rated articles from over 120 of the top clinical journals. Each article entry includes abstract and ratings (based on newsworthiness and relevance) as well as comments from the clinical raters.
POEMs research summaries
The archived collection of 3,500+ regularly updated Daily POEMs. POEMs ("Patient-Oriented Evidence that Matters") are synopses of new evidence carefully filtered for relevance to patient care and evaluated for validity, from continuous review, grading, and critical appraisal of all 3000+ studies published monthly in more than 100 journals.
Un-Appraised Individual Trials and Studies
Cochrane Registry of Conrolled Trials (CENTRAL)
A database of over 600,000 controlled trials identified by contributors of the Cochrane Collaboration and others, as a part of an international effort to hand search the world´s journals and create an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews. CENTRAL includes reports published in conference proceedings and in many other sources not currently listed in PubMed or other bibliographic databases.
Largest databases devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Contains millions of records from journal articles (from ~2500 journals), books, book chapters, technical reports, and dissertations. Results can be limited to empirical study in the "Methodology" section of the search options.
CINHAL with Full Text
A good resource to find literature in allied health (Nursing, OT, PT, Sports Medicine, et.) and complementary and alternative medicine. Results can be limited to individual studies and trials by applying “Randomized Controlled Trials” or the Clinical Queries filters.
A meta search engine of many levels of literature including EBM synopses, systematic reviews, guidelines, primary literature, etc. Guidelines are included from US, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, the UK and more.