Skip to main content

Wiggins Library Student Workers Guide: Library Materials

Welcome to the electronic version of the library student worker handbook. This is meant to be a quick reference for any questions you might have about working here at the library or that might crop up while you're on the job.

Book Locations Map

Click image to enlarge.

Theological Reference Collection

Books with a lime green Theological Reference Collection sticker are Divinity Ref books and belong in the TRC in 3rd-floor Kivett.

Reserve Items

Items with the yellow RESERVE stickers belong in the Reserves section behind the Circulation Desk. They are organized by professor's LAST NAME, or sometimes by COURSE NUMBER/NAME.

CMMC Items

Books with the prefix JUV and movies with a MEDIA call number belong in the CMMC.

Types of Library Materials

Type of Library Material

Location

Circulation Rules

Lending Period/
Renewal

Checkout Limit

Overdue Fine*

INFORMATION COMMONS

Reference Books

Information Commons

Non-circulating

--

--

--

Interlibrary Loan

Research Assistance

Direct inquiries to Marie Berry.

Varies according to Lending Library (usually 30 days)

No limit

Varies

Rare Books

Archives

Non-circulating; Patrons may use in library after requesting book from archives (request forms at Circulation desk)

--

--

--

Popular Films/
TV Series

Oasis Collection

Circulates to all card-holding patrons

1 week/
1 renewal

3 discs

$1.00/day

Video Games

Oasis Collection

Circulates to all card-holding patrons

1 week/
1 renewal

1 game

$1.00/day

Reserve Materials

Circulation Desk

FOL/Guest members may NOT check out.

2 hours, 1 day, 3 days, or 7 days/
0 renewals

3 items

$0.50/hour

Laptops, iPads, Chromebooks

Circulation Desk

FOL/Guest members may NOT check out.

4 hours/
1 renewal

1 comp +
1 charger

$10.00/hour (comp) 
$0.25/hour (charger)

Tech Accessories

Circulation Desk

FOL/Guest members may NOT check out.

4 hours/
1 renewal

2 items

$0.25/day

GENERAL COLLECTION

Books

Wiggins Basement;
Kivett floors 2-4, CMMC 

Circulates to all card-holding patrons

21 days (Semester loan Faculty/DMIN)/
2 renewals

No limit

$0.25/day

PERIODICALS

Magazine/
Loose Journals

Periodicals Reading Room

Non-circulating

--

--

--

Bound Journals

Kivett 1

Non-circulating

--

--

--

CURRICULUM MATERIALS/MEDIA CENTER (CMMC)

CD/VHS/DVD

Media Collection Room (CMMC)

Circulates to all card-holding patrons

7 days (30 days Faculty/DMIN)/
0 renewals

3 items

$1.00/day

e-Readers

CMMC  Desk

Circulates to all card-holding patrons

10 days/1 renewal

1 item

$10.00/day

Audiobook

CMMC

Circulates to all card-holding patrons

21 days/
2 renewals

No limit

$0.25/day

AV Equipment

Manipulatives Room (CMMC)

Circulates to all card-holding patrons

4 hours/
1 renewal

2 items

$0.25/day

Manipulatives

Manipulatives Room (CMMC)

Circulates to all card-holding patrons

21 days (30 days Faculty/DMIN)/
2 renewals

No limit

$0.25/day

Set

Manipulatives Room (CMMC)

Circulates to all card-holding patrons

7 days (30 days Faculty)/
0 renewal

3 items

$1.00/day

GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS

Books

Wiggins Basement;
Kivett Basement 

Circulates to all card-holding patrons

21 days (Semester loan Faculty/DMIN)/
2 renewals

No limit

$0.25/day

Supplemental Discs

Discs with SUPPL in the call number are stored at the Circulation Desk.

Discs with REF SUPPL are stored in the Research Assistance Office.

 

Oversize Books

Items with the prefix OVERSIZE belong in the Oversize Books collection in Wiggins Basement.

DIC / MED / RTP Suffixes

REF items with DICfollowing the call number are shelved in the Drug Information Center on 2nd-floor Wiggins.

REF items with MED orRTP suffixes will be routed to the medical school and RTP campus, respectively. Bring these books to the Librarian Offices, and place them on the cart located to your right after you walk in.