Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Subject: Corporate Living Wills – Effect of Dodd/Frank Bill on their use and effectiveness
Objective: Understand what is a corporate living will, how it is used in the financial/estate planning process. In addition, what risks do they present to a corporate fiduciary and how does the risk and use of the corporate living will change with the implementation of the Dodd/Frank …
TRST 415 Presentation
Tips for using Business Source Complete and LexisNexis Academic for this assignment.
Databases - invisible web
Business Source Complete
Full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses. Full text for more than 8,800 serials back to 1965 and searchable cited references back as far as 1998.
NexisUni This link opens in a new window
LexisNexis Academic provides searchable access to a comprehensive spectrum of full-text information from over 5,600 sources, selected to meet academic research needs.
Includes RIA Check Point Academic Advantage Library and RIA Estate Planning Complete. RIA Check Point Academic Advantage Library includes the U.S. Tax Reporter a comprehensive and up-to-date source of federal tax law, regulations, committee reports, cases, rulings, annotations, and explanations, and full coverage of federal income, estate & gift, excise and international taxes. RIA Estate Planning Complete is a professional estate tax service that consolidates all aspects of estate planning and administration, from development of the plan to administration and settlement of the final estate, with full text of supporting primary law documents.
Links - visible web
Corporate Living Will (TM) by Stratenomics, Inc,
The Corporate Living Will™ is a document designed to protect your company in the event that you are no longer able or willing to manage your business. The Corporate Living Will™ provides a medium for protecting your company's future; both from an operational and market perspective.
Living Wills are not new ideas; they've legally protected the interests of individuals for many years. Since a corporation is an individual in the eyes of the state shouldn't it have the same protections, the same advocacy as any other individual who may temporarily be unable to make key decisions or determinations? The Corporate Living Will™ … ensures the continuity of your business and protects the financial investment you've made. It is also a means of assuring that your legacy, your ideas, your goals and business construct are perpetuated. It is designed to be an interim document; not a replacement for a personal will or other estate plans or corporate documents.
Law on the Web
FindLaw help - Search Services & Query Language
Excellent summary of how to get the most out of the FindLaw search box.
Phrase search the LEARN ABOUT THE LAW tab for summary information about your topic. Remember, the more precise your vocabulary the better. The search box accepts nesting parenthesis and Boolean operators e.g. (english only) AND (national origin discrimination).
FindLaw - Opinion Summaries Archive
Enter your phrase in the FULL TEXT SEARCH tab. Results listings lead to a READ button that displays the court reporter (Opinion) of the case. Look-up the case on Lexis-Nexis for detailed notes and hyper-links to related material.
Subjects & terms
living wills (corporate)
advance resolution planning
financial companies that would be subject to resolution
Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act (the "Dodd-Frank Act") is the popular name of this legislation. What is the codification of this legislation? (USCS citation) What sections and subsections pertain to your topic?