Sources for your study of Corporate Universities - BADM 708 Special Topics - Study of Corporate Universities

Instructions

First, some comments about these sources:

Lexis Nexis Academic has a shocking amount of material on your topic, be sure to select articles by type (e.g. trade journals) using the links on the left hand side of the page. There is also a Search within results box in the upper right hand corner of the results page.

WorldCat will list books on the subject (CU holdings are marked). The Libraries Worldwide: link will show you a list of libraries that own the item (a good excuse for a road trip).

Use the Advanced feature of Google Scholar to look for articles not available at Campbell and to track down works cited in other sources. Full text, including CU holdings are listed on the right hand side of the page.

ERIC is a U.S. Department of Education database that catalogs documents about education.

Academic Source Premiere and Business Source Premier should be familiar to you.

Completeness demands that you search Dissertation Abstracts ... the data express link is the best we have at the moment.

Finally, we need your comments! Please rate the sources (one to five stars) and please share additional web-sites that you think should be included in this Research Guide by entering the link in the box in the right-hand column of this page.

Next, a few reminders:

1. Enter terms in quotation marks to bundle phrases e.g 'corporate university' (you may also have to be sensitive to truncation - 'corporate universities' check the help function for the syntax your database uses)

2. Use the Check Campbell Library for print or online version link if a record does not provide full text of your document - this federated search will look for your article in all our holdings, you may be pleasantly surprised.

3. Use the Journals tab on the Library Homepage to locate which databases have the journal title you are looking for. Be careful to observe the availability dates and embargoes for your journal.

3. Get ahead of the curve - you may need to use interlibrary loan to receive some of your material and that takes time - email THE COMPLETE CITATION of critical documents you cannot find to your librarian, Dan Maynard maynard@campbell.edu immediately. Be sure to provide a meaningful subject line on your message.

4. Documents that have doi (digital object identifiers) are becoming easy to look for online. Cut and paste the doi into the search box.

Best,

Dan

Electronic Sources

ERIC (via EbscoHost) This link opens in a new window
Indexes Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) documents (ED) and ERIC journals (EJ) from 1966. Many are in full-text since 1993. The Library has a collection of ERIC documents in microfiche filed by ED number. ERIC journals owned by the Library are found by the journal title. This is a database you may not have known about, give it a try - ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.

ERIC via ERIC Official Web Site
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC), sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, produces the world’s premier database of journal and non-journal education literature. The new ERIC online system, released September 2004, provides the public with a centralized ERIC Web site for searching the ERIC bibliographic database of more than 1.1 million citations going back to 1966. Effective October 1, more than 107,000 full-text non-journal
Academic Search Premier via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
Provides full text for more than 3,430 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. This database is updated on a daily basis.
Business Source Premier via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
Full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses. Full text for more than 8,800 serials back to 1965 and searchable cited references back as far as 1998.

NexisUni This link opens in a new window
Verey rich with 'corporate university' serach - e.g. trade journals!

Google Scholar
Use the Advanced Google Scholar to look for specific articles; authors; or titles.

WorldCat (the OCLC Online Union Catalog) This link opens in a new window
OCLC catalog of library holdings: books, web resources, and other material worldwide. Identifies materials that are located at Campbell libraries.

Other sites and databases to check out

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) database (formerly UMI Dissertations Abstracts database)
Campbell does not subscribe to this service at this time. If you are not affiliated with a library that subscribes to PQDT, you can search for dissertations and theses through Dissertation Express. Dissertation Express lets you purchase unbound print copies or PDFs of graduate works published by ProQuest.
more...less...
Your department or the library may have a budget to help you purchase a really important document.
Corportate University Enterprise Inc. (CUE)
Corporate University Enterprise, Inc. (CUE) focuses on the business aspects of developing, launching, managing, and refining a learning enterprise that strategically impacts both the knowledge worker and the organization’s competitive advantage.

With clients around the globe and in over 100 organizations, encompassing 40 industries as well as federal, state and local governments, CUE has the expertise it takes to handle any strategic learning project – large or small.

We co

BADM 708 Special Topics - Study of Corporate Universities: Sources for your study of Corporate Universities

Instructions

Electronic Sources

Other sites and databases to check out