Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Links to find articles
The Marketing Scales Handbooks (print) are on the counter top at the Business Library.
Interlibrary loan page
This page about interlibrary loan includes a link to ILLiad (CU interlibrary loan) and a link to a video tutorial about setting up your ILLiad account and processing a request.
Marketing Scales Handbook Overview
In this initial video, the Marketing Scales Handbook (Volume 5) is demonstrated by the author, Dr. Gordon C. Bruner II (Professor of Marketing, Southern Illinois University). Dr. Bruner discusses some of the things that can be done with the book, in particular, how to quickly locate measures of interest from the hundreds of scales reviewed. The Table of Contents, the Subject Index, and the keyword search function are featured. Although this video was made with reference to Volume 5, most of the information is relevant to Volume 6 as well.
THREE ADDITIONAL VIDEOS FOLLOW
From the Marketing Scales website. Lists numerous terms related to statistics and psychometrics that are commonly used in the reviews of scales in the database. The wording of these definitions and descriptions has been deliberately kept simple and refer primarily to the way they are used in the reviews. They should be rather consistent with the way they are used in marketing science as well as other disciplines that employ psychometrics in their research but differences in descriptions do exist. In those cases where descriptions can become highly mathematical, they have been simplified here for the more casual reader. Although the phrasings of these definitions is original, they are heavily influenced by Netemeyer, Bearden, and Sharma (2003) as well as Nunnally and Bernstein (1994).
From the Marketing Scales website. These articles and books are suggested to consult when trying to better understand psychometrics and related issues. While the emphasis in the list is on literature from the academic discipline of marketing, many of the references are from other fields, particularly psychology.
Marketing Scales [website]
The Marketing Scales website provides assistance to a wide group of professionals who want to use sophisticated metrics to study the thoughts and feelings of a group of people. The purpose of the site is to provide those researchers with easy access to professionally-developed measures of known quality rather than spending considerable time and money to build and pretest such measures themselves
Office of Scale Research
The Office of Scale Research (OSR) is located within the Department of Marketing at Southern Illinois University at Carbondale. It was started by Dr. Gordon C. Bruner II and Dr. Paul J. Hensel in the late 1980s. The office is best known for its production of the Marketing Scales Handbooks. Volume 1 was published by the AMA in late 1992 and was the first collection of marketing-related measurement scales ever published. Volume 2 was released in August of 1996, The third volume came out in early 2001, and Volume 4 (CB and AD portion) was released in 2005. Volume 5 was released in 2009 solely in electronic form at the MarketingScales site. In the late spring of 2012, Volume 6 was published. (As with the fifth volume, it is only available at MarketingScales.) The website is also home to a comprehensive library of scale reviews from the previous volumes as well as work that has occurred since the last book was published.
Office of Scale Research - News
From the link shown in Dr. Bruner's 4th video.