LibGuides: ENGL 102: Academic Writing & Literature: Poetry Criticism

Useful References

Dictionary of Literary Biography
Call Number: PN 451.A54
Dictionary of Literary Biography systematically presents career biographies and criticism of writers from all eras and all genres through volumes dedicated to specific types of literature and time periods.
This source is also available full-text digitally in Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online.
Poetry Criticism
Call Number: PN 1010.P499
ISBN: 10524851
This multi-volume set includes excerpts from criticism of the works of the most significant and widely studied poets of world literature. Entries provide an introductory biographical sketch, an author portrait, a primary bibliography, annotated full text and excerpted criticism of the poets' works and sources for additional reading. When available, comments from the poets themselves are included. Approximately 90-95% of critical essays are full text.
This source is also available full-text digitally in Literature Criticism Online.

Literature Criticism Online contains the Poetry Criticism set full-text digitally.

Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online via Gale Cengage Learning (Full Text): Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.

The Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry
Call Number: PN 1022.C63 2004
ISBN: 0231125283
Granger's is the definitive source in English for locating a poem in anthologies on library shelves. First published in 1904, The Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry is now in its 13th edition.

African-American Poetry (1750-1900) This link opens in a new window
Nearly 3,000 poems written by African-American poets in the late eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
American Poetry (1600-1900) This link opens in a new window
Over 40,000 poems by more than 200 American poets from the Colonial Period to the early twentieth century.
Chadwyck-Healey Literature Collections This link opens in a new window
Collection of 21 literary databases.
English Poetry (600-1900) This link opens in a new window
Essentially the complete English poetic canon from 600 to 1900. Over 165,000 poems by more than 1,250 poets drawn from nearly 4,500 printed sources.
Faber Poetry Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of some of the most influential poets of the twentieth century. The Faber list includes Ted Hughes, Seamus Heaney, T. S. Eliot and Sylvia Plath covering the seventy year history of this major publishing house.
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
A database of more than 300,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies and key secondary sources.
Online Tutorial
Twentieth-Century American Poetry This link opens in a new window
A database of modern and contemporary American poetry from the early twentieth century to the present. Presently includes 36,000 poems drawn from 460 volumes by 217 poets.