Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide presents selected resources related to this subject and
provides some starting points for your research.
Book reviews can be located in numerous periodicals
and newspapers. Below are listed index references in which
citations for reviews can be found. To use these sources, you
need the copyright date of the book, the author of the book, and the
title. The date of the book will be the best starting point,
since book review indexes usually cover only one year of reviews.
Once you have found citations for reviews of a book, use the CamelCat
or use the Campbell OneSearch to determine whether or not we have the
needed serial title, in which the review will be found.
NOTE: The references
below, unless otherwise noted, do
not provide actual book reviews but rather citations for locations of
Finding a Book Review Video
Book Review Digest
Call Number: Z 1219.C95
Major source for reviews of all subjects of books. Gives brief excerpts of actual reviews in the yearly volumes, along with citations. Not comprehensive for any subject; general review source.
Book Review Index
Call Number: Z 1035.A1B6
Major source for reviews of all subjects of books. Provides citations for reviews from diverse sources. Not comprehensive for any subject; general review source.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is EBSCO's comprehensive scholarly database, covering most subjects. It contains more than 10,000 full text peer reviewed journals and magazines. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 15,000 journals.
Books in Print This link opens in a new window
Professional bibliographic database with five million in-print, out-of-print, forthcoming, audio book, and video titles. Many full-text reviews included.
NexisUni This link opens in a new window
LexisNexis Academic provides searchable access to a comprehensive spectrum of full-text information from over 5,600 sources, selected to meet academic research needs.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a collection of full text scholarly journals in a wide variety of subject areas, providing entire backfiles of key journals. Campbell has access to JSTOR Arts and Sciences I through VIII and XI, as well as specific collections for Life Sciences, Religion and Theology.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE provides online, worldwide, institutional subscription access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
One of your friendly librarians
If you need assistance finding or using these resources, please contact the Research Assistance Desk:
Phone: (910) 893-1467