LibGuides: Botanical and Holistic Health: Electronic Databases

Interlibrary Loan

Resources not owned by the Campbell University Libraries can be borrowed from other libraries through ILLiad, an interlibrary loan (ILL) system available to Campbell faculty, staff, and students as an aid to research and study. Request it through our Interlibrary Loan service and we will borrow it from another library. This service is free of cost. Please allow up to 4-5 days for book requests, and 2-3 days for articles.

Check out the online tutorial to learn more about ILLiad.

Show Me!- PubMed & RefWorks Tutorials

Library Website Access to PubMed
In this tutorial (3:00 min), learn why accessing PubMed through the library website is important.
Placing Interlibrary Loan Requests in PubMed
This tutorial (2:59 min.) describes Interlibrary Loan (ILL), a free service offered by Campbell Libraries that allows you to request books and articles that are not in our collection.
PubMed: Basic Searches
In this tutorial (2:14 min.), learn the basics of searching and navigating PubMed.
Focusing Your PubMed Search with MeSH Headings
This tutorial (3:46 min.) demonstrate the use of MeSH headings or Medical Subject Headings in PubMed.
RefWorks: Importing Citations from PubMed
This tutorial (1:45 min) demonstrates how RefWorks can be used to store citations for papers that you are writing. RefWorks allows you to generate a bibliography with the click of a button.
Writing with RefWorks (Write-n-Cite and more)
This RefWorks training session will cover several tools you can use when writing a research paper and using RefWorks to supply citations and bibliographies. We'll be showing RefWorks Citation Manager, Write-N-Cite, ProQuest RefWorks for Google Docs, and Quick Cite.

Botanical and Holistic Health Databases

MEDLINEPlus Drugs and Supplements This link opens in a new window
Guide to prescription and over-the-counter medications, herbs, and supplements.
National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine This link opens in a new window
Complementary and alternative healing practices such as aromatherapy, accupuncture, and herbal medicine. Offers resources and pamphlets.
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
Natural Medicines provides evidence-based information about traditional and natural therapies, in order to inform clinical and consumer practice.

Drug Information Resources

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Access Medicine provides access to more than 75 medical titles from McGraw-Hill, with regularly updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic and point-of-care tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to view from and download content to a mobile device.
AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window
Access Pharmacy allows users to select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, review textbooks, search across leading pharmacy online references and view optimized content on a mobile device.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Upgraded and expanded from MD Consult, this point-of-care research and "clinical insight engine" contains hundreds of Elsevier's medical books, textbooks and very current journals, Procedures Consult's procedural videos, the First Consult POC interface, additional videos and images, practice guidelines, patient handouts, and drug information from Gold Standard.
LexiComp Online This link opens in a new window
Provides information on drug information, geriatric dosage, natural products, poisoning & toxicology, recently approved medications, laboratory tests, infectious diseases, pediatric dosage, oncology drug information, drug images, drug interactions, diagnostic procedures, anesthesiology and critical care drug information, and nutrient depletion drug information.
LWW Total Access Collection This link opens in a new window
The Lippincott Williams & Wilkins Total Access Collection is a collection of over 310 journals targeting a variety of medical information needs, including various specialties of medicine as well as nursing and bioscience.
MICROMEDEX Healthcare Series This link opens in a new window
The MICROMEDEX Healthcare Series provides a wide range of databases tailored to meet the needs of healthcare professionals, including information related to drugs, acute care, toxicology, and patient education.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Sanford Guide This link opens in a new window
Sanford Guide is a leading evidence-based clinical reference guide for diagnosis and treatment recommendations.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, featuring tools to track, analyze and visualize research. For peer-reviewed research published since 1995, Scopus delivers the most comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Online Tutorial
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UpToDate is an electronic resource offering evidence-based, synthesized medical information quickly at the point of care. It is comprised of original topics that are written, reviewed and continually updated by a faculty of physician experts.
Restricted access to College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences and School of Osteopathic Medicine only
Online Tutorial

Your Subject Librarian

Meredith Beeman

She/Her

Email Me

Contact:

Wiggins Memorial Library, 2nd Floor, Office 230

910-893-1473

Subjects: Chemistry, Clinical Research, Engineering, Information Technology & Security, Math and Computer Science, Mathematics, Pharmaceutical Sciences, Pharmacy and Health Sciences, Pharmacy Practice, Physics

Off campus access to the databases

All of the databases can be accessed from off campus, using your Blackboard Username and Password. Please contact the research assistance desk if you have any questions about your username and password.

Book Locations Map

Click image to enlarge.