Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Two Article Types
||Reports original research (observation or experimentation)
||Gather, summarize, and information that has already been published
||Quantitatively or qualitatively measures the relationship between two variables.
Critically evaluate important studies relevant to a research question or topic
Maybe a "literature review," "systematic review," or "meta-analysis."
- Define a problem/question
- Summarize previous research relevant to that problem
- Identify gaps in the literature (other areas to be explored)
"In this study..."
"We measured / tested / observed..."
Databases are collections of articles and documents. You can use a database to find articles on your topic from a variety of journals. These databases will help you find psychology articles.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 45,000 articles from 57 journals - 46 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1985 to present.
PsycINFO 1887-Current This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly jounral articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others.
ProQuest Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
Clinical and social psychology articles on topics such as genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more.
Identifying Different Articles