Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searching for Articles
There are a couple of ways to find articles that focus on the various aspects of educational leadership for your topic.
The first method is to add additional keywords, like "case studies," or "best practices," or "professional development," to whatever search you're doing. Type your search string into the search bar of the database.
Sample search strings:
"Educational leadership"AND "case studies" AND "secondary grades"
"Educational leadership" AND "professional development"
"Educational leadership" AND "best practices"
Administrative Leadership in the Age of Inclusion: Promoting Best Practices and Teacher Empowerment
This paper presents ways administrative leaders in schools can facilitate inclusive education. It is argued that inclusive teaching models must provide access to the regular curriculum and assessment procedures, but also yield achievement gains in students, which are, at least, as effective as traditional methods. Moreover, these models must also reflect values that are consistent with humanitarian principles and embedded within the concept of inclusive education. Although more research is required, differentiated instruction and co-teaching appear to represent two such instructional models. However, adopting these models requires effective leadership strategies, which empower teachers. [PUBLICATION ABSTRACT]
Cultivating Innovation in an Age of Accountability: Tech-Savvy Leadership
District and school leaders are uniquely poised to serve as collaborative, innovative leaders. However, the context of current challenges often detracts from implementation efforts. This case describes how district leadership works collaboratively with school administrators through targeted efforts related to professional development, articulation strategies, and identifying challenges and opportunities. Cultivating innovation requires a realization of likely dissonance as competing priorities, such as accountability pressure or leadership turnover, can distract from planned initiatives. Realistic decision-making processes are vital in ensuring collaborative leadership and reflection while embracing change efforts.
The Role of Leadership and Culture in Creating Meaningful Assessment: A Mixed Methods Case Study
With increased demands for institutional accountability and improved student learning, involvement in assessment has become a fundamental role of higher education faculty (Rhodes, 2010). However, faculty members and administrators often question whether assessment efforts do indeed improve student learning (Hutchings, 2010). This mixed methods case study of a faculty inquiry project explored how factors linked to organizational context (Kezar, 2013) are related to commitment to assessment and to use of assessment data by faculty members. Results indicated key best practices, such as developing faculty leaders and communities of practice to exchange ideas. The study provides insights for institutional administrators and faculty members seeking to develop a culture of assessment. [ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR]
Off-Campus Access to Online Databases
Online databases are restricted to the Campbell University community. To access off-campus, provide your Campbell WebAccess username and password.
Databases are collections of articles and documents. You can use a database to find articles on your topic from a variety of journals.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is EBSCO's comprehensive scholarly database, covering most subjects. It contains more than 10,000 full text peer reviewed journals and magazines. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 15,000 journals.
Contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly jounral articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others.
SAGE Journals Online
SAGE provides access to over 600 journals in the social sciences, humanities, medicine, engineering, and physical and life sciences.
SAGE Open is an open access publication from SAGE. It publishes peer-reviewed, original research and review articles in an interactive, open access format. Articles may span the full spectrum of the social and behavioral sciences and the humanities.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, featuring tools to track, analyze and visualize research. For peer-reviewed research published since 1995, Scopus delivers the most comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
When we don't have it
What if you need a book or article but we don't have a copy available at Campbell? Request it from another library! There are two easy ways to have a book or article loaned to you from another library:
- Through Campbell's Interlibrary Loan service
- Through WorldCat (Look for the ILL symbol below when using WorldCat.)