Skip to main content

Regional Information: Home

A guide to information about countries in various regions around the world

Welcome

If you need to find information about a country or region of the world, this is a list of resources that the library has for you.  Keep in mind that current events may render some of the older information in the collection out of date, look at the information that you need and consider how important timely information is for you.

Searching the CamelCat

The CamelCat can find books containing information on various countries. To find this information, do a browse search of subject headings containing the Country's name (i.e. Germany). The results will show subject headings containing this Country. Look for subheadings that may be useful for your research. For example, if you were interested in finding information on the Reunification of Germany you would want to find the heading Germany -- History -- Unification, 1990.

Remember, books that have a call number starting with REF are in the reference room and cannot be checked out.

Useful Reference Books

These books are all reference books and may not be checked out of the library.  You may use them in the library, make copies and scan them, but they cannot leave the building.

Internet Resources

Search CamelCat



Library:

Catalog Home | Power Search | Browse Search | My Account | WorldCat

Useful Databases

Academic Search Premier via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
Provides full text for more than 3,430 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. This database is updated on a daily basis.

CountryWatch
CountryWatch includes: Country Reviews, which contain political, socio-demographic, economic, cultural and environmental information and data on 192 countries, updated on-line on an annual basis; Country Wire, which provides access to full articles from 12 international news services. These articles are archived for up to one year and maintained in a searchable database; CountryWatch Data, an international economic, socio-demographic database for cross-national statistical comparisons and GIS mapping; and CountryWatch Map Gallery, assimilates the data collected from CountryWatch Data and presents this information as thematic world maps using ESRI mapping software as well as offering physical, political, and Political Risk Maps.

Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
Updated annually, this database includes over 25,000 full text records, covering an array of subject areas.

JSTOR (Full Text)
A collection of full text scholarly journals in the following subject areas: African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, and Statistics.

LexisNexis Academic via LexisNexis (Full Text)
LexisNexis Academic provides searchable access to a comprehensive spectrum of full-text information from over 5,600 sources, selected to meet academic research needs.


One of your friendly librarians

Ron Epps

Contact:
Office Phone: (910)893-1472

Research Assistance: (910) 893-1467

Fax: (910)893-1470
(910) 893-1472
Website / Blog PageSkype Contact