Skip to main content

MUSC 432: 20th Century Music Literature and Theory: The New Grove

This research guide is designed to help you find sources for your final paper in 20th Century Music Literature and Theory.

Oxford Music Online

New Grove Description

The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians(NGII) is the major English-language music encyclopedia. It was first published in 1879-89 in four volumes under the title Grove's Dictionary of Music and Musicians. The 29 volume set, found in the library's Reference Collection, is the 2nd edition with the title New Grove (but is the 7th edition of the encyclopedia overall) and was published in 2001.

More than half of the entries are on composers and usually give both biographical data, musical analysis, and extensive work lists. Other people given individual entries include performers, scholars, writers, librettists, dancers, patrons, printers, instrument makers and others significant in the history of music.

Numerous entries cover a variety of geographical areas--cities, countries, and regions of the world.  The New Grove also includes hundreds of terminological and survey articles on music other than Western European art music including popular music and world music (ethnomusicology).

The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians

Citation Format, New Grove in print & online. F=footnote B=bibliography

Please bear in mind that The New Grove  is a special case: while “Dictionary” may be part of its title, it is NOT a generic dictionary.  References to “dictionaries” in style manuals simply do not apply to the various incarnations of the Grove dictionaries. The articles are written by experts and signed; some articles have been extracted and published as individual books. Thus, the following citation format, which resembles the format for citing journal articles, is to be followed:

Print:

11. Michael F. Robinson with Rosa Leonetti, "Auletta, Pietro," in The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd ed. (London: Macmillan, 2011), 2:176. [F]

Robinson, Michael F. with Rosa Leonetti.  "Auletta, Pietro."  The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd ed., 2: 176-77.  London: Macmillan, 2011. [B]


The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians is also available online.  Please be aware that the citation examples given in Grove Music Online reflect British practice, and as such are incorrect for those North Americans using either the Chicago Manual of Style or Turabian’s A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations.  Please also bear in mind that The New Grove  is a special case: while “Dictionary” may be part of its title, it is NOT a generic dictionary.  References to “dictionaries” in style manuals simply do not apply to the various incarnations of the Grove dictionaries.

Online:

12. Grove Music Online, s.v. “Schafer, R. Murray” (by Stephen Adams), http://www.grovemusic.com/ (accessed November 19, 2007). [F]

Adams, Stephen.  S.v.  “Schafer, R. Murray.”  Grove Music Online.  http://www.grovemusic.com (accessed November 19, 2007). [B]

New Grove- Reviews

"Grove remains the best single source of musical information in English. Given the degree to which it has branched into world music, pop and contemporary analytical theory, it may now be the most comprehensive musical dictionary in any language."--The New York Times

"The Grove is...a magnificent achievement, and, more than that, it is a work of love....Another remarkable effort....The book is like a corridor with a million doors, each opening onto a separate world."--The New Yorker

"...mark my words, anyone with a serious interest in music, whether classical, popular, ethnic or jazz, will benefit from this reference work's acquaintance....Nothing remotely as comprehensive or so extensively researched exists to rival it in the English language."--The Toronto Star

"...this latest Grove, like every one of its predecessors, is...the most prestigious publication in any field of the arts."--L. A. Weekly

"To be sure, New Grove II continues to uphold the tradition associated with the world's leading musical reference source...serving all who have an interest in music--with scholarly accuracy, authority and thoroughness."--Chicago Tribune

How May I Help You?

Marie Berry
Contact:
Research Assistance Desk: 910-893-1467

Office Phone: 910-893-1762