General Engineering Resources: Engineering Databases
How can you find accurate, appropriate, and timely information on general engineering subjects? The guide is an introduction to varied information sources within engineering, from books, journals, and databases to patents and standards.
The American Society for Metals Alloy Center Database is an authoritative database of more than 100,000 alloy designations, specifications, standards, and commercial grades in the U.S. and globally. The latest release includes nearly 5,000 new and updated ferrous and nonferrous alloy standards specification data sheets, based on ASTM and ASME standards.
AccessEngineering is an engineering reference tool that provides access to hundreds of reference books such as Perry’s Chemical Engineers’ Handbook and Marks’ Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers as well as upper-level engineering textbooks. In addition to its e-book collection, this database provides an interactive data visualization and material properties tool; downloadable Excel spreadsheets for engineering equations; video tutorials; and interactive graphs and downloadable tables.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, featuring tools to track, analyze and visualize research. For peer-reviewed research published since 1995, Scopus delivers the most comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Online Tutorial
ScienceDirect is a scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books.
**Note that there is no way to filter by Full Text access in ScienceDirect. Be sure to allow time to Interlibrary Loan articles that the library may not have access to.
The Association of Computing Machinery hosts the full text of all ACM publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters and books, as well as a few additional journals and the ACM Guide to Computing Literature, a database of citations.
Academic Search Complete is EBSCO's comprehensive scholarly database, covering most subjects. It contains more than 10,000 full text peer reviewed journals and magazines. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 15,000 journals. Online Tutorial