Skip to main content

ENGL 102: Academic Writing & Literature: General Information

Library resources to help you find literary criticism

Off-campus access

Login to e-resources from off campus using your Blackboard username and password.

Reference Sources that Define Literary Terms

Basic Search Suggestions

In the Books & Media Tab:

  • Conduct a subject search on the author of the work in question.  This will give you books about the author.
  • Don't forget to use Boolean Operators (AND, OR, NOT).  These can help you focus your results.
  • If you are looking for literary criticism, try a subject search on the author's last name AND criticism.
  • If your author is associated with a literary movement (e.g. Harlem Renaissance) do a subject search on the movement.

If you are having difficulty finding information, talk to your professor or one of the librarians at the Research Assistance desk.

Useful Databases

These databases are good first choices for finding literary criticism.

These databases can also be used to find literary criticism.

Search Campbell Resources



Library:

Catalog Home | Power Search | Browse Search | My Account | WorldCat

0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Other

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P R S T U V W



Peer-reviewed only

Advanced Search

Oxford English Dictionary Online

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Online via Oxford University Press (Full Text)
The Oxford English Dictionary is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.

Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life

If you need to find information on the time period that an author wrote in, or wrote about, the Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life is the place to go.  It provides you an overview of history, domestic life, economics, politics, and religion for time periods ranging from the ancient world to the current day.

One of your friendly librarians

Ron Epps

Contact:
Office Phone: (910)893-1472

Research Assistance: (910) 893-1467

Fax: (910)893-1470
(910) 893-1472
Website / Blog PageSkype Contact

If the library doesn't have it...

Resources not owned by the Campbell University Libraries can be borrowed from other libraries through ILLiad, an interlibrary loan (ILL) system available to Campbell faculty, staff, and students as an aid to research and study. Request it through our Interlibrary Loan service and we will borrow it from another library.  This service is free of cost.  Please allow up to 4-5 days for book requests, and 2-3 days for articles.

Check out this online tutorial to learn how to use ILLiad.

Document Delivery

Books physically located at the library can be delivered to online education and extended campus students by postal mail. To request delivery, please complete a book request in ILLIad, our Interlibrary Loan system.  In the notes field, type your mailing address. 

If you have questions about Document Delivery, you may contact a librarian at reference@campbell.edu, or via phone at (910) 893-1467.