Skip to main content

ENGL 100: English Fundamentals: Reference

This is a quick reference guide for finding books and articles on your research topic.

Off-campus access

Login to e-resources from off campus using your Blackboard username and password.

Keywords & Synonyms

Not only are reference databases ideal for finding background information on a subject, but they are an ideal source to use when generating a list of keywords and synonyms

Keywords and synonyms are useful when searching the catalog and the online databases for resources on your topic.

Thesauri

These thesauri can be found in the reference collection on the 1st floor of Wiggins Memorial Library.

Search Campbell Resources



Library:

Catalog Home | Power Search | Browse Search | My Account | WorldCat

0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Other

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P R S T U V W



Peer-reviewed only

Advanced Search

Recommended Reference Databases

It is often helpful to check reference sources for background information before you begin your formal research.  Use these sources to form your list of keywords and synonyms on your topic.
CQ Researcher Online via CQ Press (Full Text)
Comprehensive, non-biased reporting and analysis on issues shaping our world.
Credo Reference (Full Text)
An online reference library that has over 350 titles from 60 different publishers.
Encyclopedia Britannica (Full Text)
Encyclopedia Britannica full text. Includes Merriam-Webster Collegiate Dictionary and Collegiate Thesaurus.
Gale Cross-Search via Gale Cengage Learning (Full Text)
Cross-search Gale's literature archive resources, including Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online and Literature Criticism Online.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Online via Oxford University Press (Full Text)
The Oxford English Dictionary is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.

How May I Help You?

Sarah Steele's picture
Sarah Steele
Contact:
Sarah's Office: 910.893.1466
Research Assistance Desk: 910.893.1467
Circulation Desk: 910.893.1462
Prefer an appointment? Sign up here
Website / Blog PageSkype Contact