Skip to main content

Campbell Databases: Home

A brief beginning guide to using the databases. How to get to them, how to use them from off campus, and the basics of searching them

Databases

What is a database?

A database is a collection of information that is organized for easy retrieval. When you hear a librarian talking about a database, they are usually talking about a collection of article citations that can be accessed through a variety of means (article author, article title, subject headings, key words, etc).

All databases have citations for the articles that they index (keep track of). Some of the databases actually contain the full text of the article. As a general rule, the more specific the database that you are searching, the less likely it is that it will contain full text articles.

How do I access the databases from off campus?

Students and faculty can access any of the databases that Campbell subscribes to from off campus. What you need to do is go to the library homepage (www.lib.campbell.edu) and click on the link that says "Databases". This will take you to the database page.

What you will see is an alphabetical listing of all the databases that Campbell subscribes to. Underneath the database name there is a description of the contents of the database. Using these descriptions, select a database that you wish to search and click on it. At this point you will be asked to enter your username and password. Your username is your WebAccess username. Your password is your WebAccess password. If you do not know what your WebAccess username and password are, go to the web access page (http://wa.campbell.edu). If you have any problems with your username and password you will need to contact computing services [(910) 893-1208] during business hours for assistance.

Which database do I need to use?

If you know the name of the database you need to use, just go to the Databases page and click on the first letter of the database name (i.e. "L" for LexisNexis Academic). If you don't know which databases contain the information that you need you can click on the "Lists of databases grouped by subject areas" link. This will take you to a web page that shows the categories that the databases are grouped into. These categories are:

  • General and Reference
  • Arts and Humanities
    • Art
    • History
    • Literature
    • Philosophy and Religion
  • Business and Economics
  • Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
  • Education
  • Government and Politics
  • News and Current Events
  • Science and Technology
    • Biological and Medical Sciences
    • Computer Science
    • Physical Sciences
  • Social Sciences

How do I search these Databases?

There is no one right way to search a database, it is a process. Before you start to search the databases you need to do some background research on your topic to determine if there are any important terms relevant to your search (names, specific events, countries, title of literary work, etc). Once you have these terms, use them in your search.

Look at the results your search is getting. Do they seem to be the type of articles that you are looking for? If they are, look at how the articles are described and use those terms in your search to find more articles. If they aren't the types of articles that you are looking for, you will need to use different search terms that you gathered during your background research.

If you are having problems finding any information, ask your local librarian (Campbell University, base librarian, or local librarian) for assistance.

Have any questions?

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact us at the reference department. If you are on campus, come by the reference desk at the Wiggins Memorial Library. If you can't come to the library you can email us at reference@campbell.edu or you can call us at (910)893-1467.

One of your friendly librarians

Ron Epps's picture
Ron Epps

Contact:
Office Phone: (910)893-1472

Research Assistance: (910) 893-1467

Fax: (910)893-1470
(910) 893-1472
Website / Blog PageSkype Contact