Skip to main content

ENGL 300: Literary Research & Analysis- S. Truffin

Searching for literature criticism of your novel? This guide can help.

Literary Criticism

literary criticism n. the art or practice of judging and commenting on the qualities and character of a literary work; consideration or analysis of a text in relation to language, structure, biography, history, etc.

"literary criticism, n.". OED Online. March 2013. Oxford University Press. 10 June 2013 http://proxy.campbell.edu/login?url=http://www.oed.com/view/Entry/109067?redirectedFrom=literary+criticism#eid38961485.

The video tutorials on this page demonstrate how to use various library databases to find literary criticism.  Try several of these when conducting your research.

 

Finding Literary Criticism in the EBSCO Databases

EBSCO Databases- There are four databases hosted in EBSCO that contain literary criticism: MLA International Bibliography, Academic Search Complete, MasterFile Complete, and ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials.  They can be searched simultaneously.

Literature Online Tutorials


 

 

Literature Online- A database of more than 300,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies and key secondary sources.

Literature Criticism Online

Literature Criticism Online includes Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400-1800, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Drama Criticism, and Children's Literature Review.

Project MUSE Tutorial

Project MUSE- Project MUSE provides online, worldwide, institutional subscription access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.