Skip to main content

EDUC 623 Research Design and Methodology: Research and Testing Resources

E-book Resources on Research Methods and Instruments

Print Resources on Research Methods and Instruments

Welcome

Phrenological head by Jean Martin Charcot

For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, declares the Lord,” Isaiah 55:8, ESV.

 

APA, Literature Review, and Research Proposal Formats

Citing Emails, Interviews, Lectures, etc. in APA Format

Emails, letters, memos, telephone conversations, lectures, course materials handed out in class or provided via Blackboard, and personal interviews are considered personal communications in APA. This type of communication can be difficult to provide recoverable data; therefore, these types of communication are not included in the Reference list. Cite personal communications within the body of your paper only.

Example:

In an interview, Sally Shoefeld explained the treatment for an accident victim (personal communication, December 18, 2011).

Note: For more information about personal communciations, see page 179 in the APA Manual, 6th edition.

 

Psychology Databases

Films on Demand
Over 7,000 full-length, streaming educational videos in many academic disciplines.
Online Tutorial
Psychological Experiments Online 
            via Alexander StreetPsychological Experiments Online is a multimedia collection including videos and text that covers the 
 most important psychological experiments of the 20th and 21st centuries. The collection pairs 75 hours of audio and video recordings of the original experiments (when existent) with 40,000 pages of primary-source documents including notes, letters, and articles.
 
Psychotherapy.net Video Collection
The Complete Collection from Psychotherapy.net includes a growing variety of over 200 titles in the fields of therapy and counseling. The videos are available streaming online and can be searched or browsed by therapeutic approach, therapeutic issue, and population.
 
PsycARTICLES via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
PsycINFO via EBSCOhost
The PsycINFO®, database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
SAGE Journals Online (Full Text)
SAGE provides access to over 600 journals in the social sciences, humanities, medicine, engineering, and physical and life sciences.
Scopus via Elsevier SciVerseScopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, featuring tools to track, analyze and visualize research. For peer-reviewed research published since 1995, Scopus delivers the most comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Women's Health
Resource on women’s health topics: pregnancy, body image, HIV/AIDS, girls health, heart health, menopause, mental health, quitting smoking, and domestic violence.

PsycTESTS 

via EBSCOhostInternational in scope, this resource from the American Psychological Association provides access to thousands of actual test instruments, most of which are available for immediate download and use in teaching and research. PsycTESTS is an authoritative source of structured information about tests of interest to a variety of fields, and while focused on contemporary instances of test use, has coverage that spans more than a century.

Online Tutorial
 

Mental Measurements Yearbook via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
Mental Measurements Yearbook, produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.
 
Tests in Print via EBSCOhost
Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).
 
 
 

Curriculum Materials/Media Center Librarian--Education, Psychology, & Social Work Liaison Librarian

LaKeshia Darden's picture
LaKeshia Darden
Contact:
Wiggins Memorial Library
Office: Third floor, Rm 310.
CMMC Research Assistance Desk: 910-893-1595
Website / Blog PageSkype Contact

Reference Titles

You'll find the following reference sources on the 1st floor of Wiggins Memorial Library.  Reference sources are a great place to start when conducting research.