Skip to main content

EDUC 355 Teaching Writing Across the Curriculum: Tutorials

Tutorials on Education Databases

ERIC via ERIC Official Web Site
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC), sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, produces the world’s premier database of journal and non-journal education literature. The new ERIC online system, released September 2004, provides the public with a centralized ERIC Web site for searching the ERIC bibliographic database of more than 1.1 million citations going back to 1966. Effective October 1, more than 107,000 full-text non-journal documents (issued 1993-2004), previously available through fee-based services only, will be available for free.
Academic Search Complete via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Films on Demand
Over 7,000 full-length, streaming educational videos in many academic disciplines.
Online Tutorial
JSTOR (Full Text)
JSTOR is a collection of full text scholarly journals in the following subject areas: Area Studies, Arts, Business and Economics, Education, History, Humanities, Law, Medicine and Allied Health, Science and Mathematics, and Social Sciences. JSTOR Arts and Sciences III, IV, V, VI, VII, and VIII Collections have been added to our original collections of Arts and Sciences I and II. This latest purchase added the archives of over 1,300 journals to the library’s collection.
Online Tutorial

 

NC LIVE Video Collection via NC LIVE
Online videos from PBS including Ken Burns', Masterpiece Theater, Scientific American, American Experience, and more.
Online Tutorial
 
SAGE Journals Online (Full Text)
SAGE provides access to over 600 journals in the social sciences, humanities, medicine, engineering, and physical and life sciences.
Online Tutorial
TeachingBooks.net
TeachingBooks.net is a database of multimedia materials about children's and young adult books, authors, and illustrators. Designed for teachers, it includes aids such as lesson plans and book discussion guides for almost every book being taught in the K-12 curriculum.
Online Tutorial
 

How to Use this Research Guide

Use the tutorials on this page to teach yourself how to access and navigate Wiggins Memorial Library databases and other resources.

If you need assistance finding or using these resources, please contact the Research Assistance Desk:

Phone: (910)893-1467

E-mail: reference@campbell.edu

Off-Campus Access to Online Databases

Online databases are restricted to the Campbell University community. To access off-campus, provide your Campbell WebAccess username and password.

Psychology and Social Work Databases Tutorials

Please see the tutorials in the boxes below.

PsycTESTS Tutorial

PsycTESTS via EBSCOhost
International in scope, this resource from the American Psychological Association provides access to thousands of actual test instruments, most of which are available for immediate download and use in teaching and research. PsycTESTS is an authoritative source of structured information about tests of interest to a variety of fields, and while focused on contemporary instances of test use, has coverage that spans more than a century.
Online Tutorial

Searching Mental Measurements Yearbook, PsycARTICLES, and PsycINFO

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
Mental Measurements Yearbook, produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.
 
PsycARTICLES via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal.
 
PsycINFO via EBSCOhost
The PsycINFO®, database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.

SAGE Journals Online Tutorial

SAGE Journals Online (Full Text)
SAGE provides access to over 600 journals in the social sciences, humanities, medicine, engineering, and physical and life sciences. 

Additional Tutorials on Psychology and Social Work Databases

Academic Search Complete via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Project MUSE via Johns Hopkins University Press (Full Text)
Project MUSE provides online, worldwide, institutional subscription access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

Find It!

Circulation Services

The Circulation staff helps users borrow materials from our libraries and from other libraries. Articles and books the library does not own can be ordered through our Interlibrary Loan ILLiad system.

Circulation loan and fine policies, including borrowing privileges for CU students, faculty, and staff, are detailed in the  Circulation Policy.

Review or renew your library materials online at My Account.