Skip to main content

Blackboard: Integrating Library Resources: Linking to Articles and eBooks

This research guide is designed to assist faculty with incorporating library resources into Blackboard.

Linking Options

If you want students to use articles or e-books from the library's resources, you have two options:

  • Give them the citation information and let them find the book or article from within the library databases or OneSearch
  • Place a link to the resource into Blackboard

Having students look the citation up themselves is perfectly reasonable, and is good practice for them.  However, there may be reasons you wish to link directly to articles.

When you find an article online in the library's databases, just copy-pasting the URL into Blackboard won't usually work.

Instead, you need to take two steps, both of which are pretty easy:

  1. Find a permanent link or permalink within the database where you're finding the article.  This will enable you to provide a link all your students can view.
  2. Make sure that you place the proxy information in front of the link you send to students, so that they can view the resource from places other than campus.

Linking In Blackboard

Once you have the durable URL described in the steps at right, it's easy to place it in Blackboard:

  • copy the URL as described
  • open Blackboard in Edit Mode, and either create a new or use an existing content area (menu item).
  • within the content area, go to the "Build Content" menu and select "Web Link."

Then, just add the link to the URL field that pops up and assign it to a spot within your class pages!

Step 1: Permalinks

The first step to adding a link to an article is to find the permanent link.  For most databases, it will be somewhere near the Full Text options or in a collection of tools in the article record.  They may look like any of the below.

From OneSearch:

From any EBSCOhost database: Tools menu

For each article, clicking these buttons will provide you with the necessary URL to direct students to the resource.

 

Step 2: Add the Proxy

The library uses EZProxy to authenticate students from off campus.  Most of these articles and e-books won't work off campus without a proxy link in front of them.  Some, but not all, databases will add the proxy to permanent links automatically...but you'll still need to check and see.

Fortunately, getting the proxy link is easy.  To the front of the permalink URL, just add:

https://proxy.campbell.edu/login?url=


For example, if a database gave you the permalink:

https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=59411763&site=ehost-live

 

You'd simply add the proxy code to the front to get:

https://proxy.campbell.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=59411763&site=ehost-live

How May I Help You?

Sarah Steele's picture
Sarah Steele
Contact:
Sarah's Office: 910.893.1466
Research Assistance Desk: 910.893.1467
Circulation Desk: 910.893.1462
Prefer an appointment? Sign up here
Website

What about ILL articles?

If you would like your students to read an ILL article that you borrowed, your students will also need to request the article.  Provide the citation for the article and ask them to request it through ILL or the DIC.